Palace

Kikini Chamber

Address

Stavropolskaya Str., 9 / Shpalernaya Str. 68h

Daily

Years of foundation

1714–1720

Architects

A. Schluter, I.N. Benoît

Style

Peter's Baroque

Kikini chambers were built in 1714-1720 according to the project of architect Andreas Schluter near the resinous yard. This is the only surviving house of admiral-adviser and one of the companions of Peter I - Alexander Kikin.

It is interesting that Kikin also owned a site in the center of the city where the Winter Palace is now located. In 1718 he was executed for organizing the escape of Tsarevich Alexei Petrovich from Russia, and his house was taken to the treasury. In 1719-1727 there was a collection of the Petrine Kunstkammer and the personal library of Peter the Great.

In the 1720s the Kikin’s House was rebuilt: the second floor was built up, the facades were decorated with pilasters. On the windows of the facade facing the Neva, figured platbands appeared. In 1733, architect B. Rastrelli erected a bell tower with a dome and a cross over the middle part of the chambers. The Chancellery houses the office, the infirmary and the church of the Life Guards Equestrian Regiment.

In the Kikiny chambers, the stylistic foundations of the "Petrine Baroque" were embodied. The building and its interior layout resemble the Great Peterhof Palace in its central part.

In 1829, the building was rebuilt again by the architect Alexander Staubert, the Baroque decor was destroyed.

During the Leningrad blockade, the Kikins were badly damaged, but in 1952-1956 they were rebuilt according to the design of the architect Irina Benoit in the original form.

Now the building houses a musical lyceum.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Кикины палаты

Адрес

Ставропольская ул., 9 / Шпалерная ул., 68х

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1714—1720

Архитекторы

А. Шлютер

Стиль

Петровское барокко

Кикины палаты были возведены в 1714—1720 годах по проекту архитектора Андреаса Шлютера недалеко от смоляного двора. Это единственный сохранившийся до нашего времени дом адмирала-советника и одного из сподвижников Петра I — Александра Кикина.

Интересно, что Кикин также владел участком в центре города, на месте которого сейчас расположен Зимний дворец. В 1718 году он был казнён за организацию побега из России царевича Алексея Петровича, а его дом взят в казну. В 1719—1727 годах здесь находилась коллекция петровской кунсткамеры и личная библиотека Петра I.

В 1720-х годах Кикины палаты были перестроены: надстроен второй этаж, фасады декорированы пилястрами. На окнах фасада, обращенного к Неве, появились фигурные наличники. В 1733 году архитектор Б. Растрелли возвел над средней частью палат колокольню с куполом и крестом. В Кикиных палатах разместились канцелярия, лазарет и церковь лейб-гвардейского Конного полка.

В Кикиных палатах нашли свое воплощение стилевые основы «петровского барокко». Здание и его внутренняя планировка напоминают Большой Петергофский дворец в центральной его части.

В 1829 году здание снова перестроили по проекту архитектора Александра Штауберта, декор в стиле барокко был уничтожен.

Во время Ленинградской блокады Кикины палаты сильно пострадали, но в 1952–1956 годах были восстановлены по проекту архитектора Ирины Бенуа в первоначальном виде.

Сейчас в здании размещается музыкальный лицей.