Church

Kazan Church of the Novodevichy Convent

Address

Moskovsky prospect, 100

Category

Churches

Daily

09:00 – 19:00

Years of foundation

1907–1914

Architect

V. A. Kosyakov

Style

neo-Byzantine

Active Orthodox church

The five-field Kazan temple was built according to the project of architect V.A. Kosyakov. It is located on the same axis with the Resurrection Cathedral and the main entrance to the Novodevichy Cemetery. Outwardly, the temple resembles the Cathedral of St. Sophia in Constantinople.

The temple is lined with a light, almost white brick, specially brought from Germany. Brick masonry is an important decorative element in the overall design of the temple. The drums of the central and small domes are decorated with ornaments and majolica. Three portraits are decorated with an elegant sculpture, "fashioned" out of concrete, imitating stone carvings using mosaic inserts.

The external appearance of the church is in complete unity with the nature of the decision of its internal space. The church is decorated with three wooden carved iconostases, covered with gilding. The icons in it were made by the teachers of the St. Petersburg Theological Academy V.T. Zhdanova and I.N. Kusov. The wall painting of the Kazan temple was restored and created by artists of the St. Petersburg Theological Academy and the icon painting school of the Moscow diocese of Dubna.

In the Soviet years, the Kazan Church was used to house a mechanical workshop. Huge damage to the building was caused by constant vibration of working machines. The revival of the church began in 1992, when the building was transferred to the diocese. Two years later the church was handed over to the monastic community, and in 1996, the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God was added to the temple inauguration.

Храм

Казанская церковь Новодевичьего монастыря

Адрес

Московский проспект, 100

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

09:00 – 19:00

Год постройки

1907–1914

Архитектор

В. А. Косяков

Стиль

неовизантийский

Храмы /

Пятикупольный Казанский храм был построен по проекту архитектора В. А. Косякова. Он расположен на одной оси с Воскресенским  собором и главным входом на Новодевичье кладбище. Внешне храм напоминает собор святой Софии в Константинополе.

Храм облицован светлым, почти белым кирпичом, специально привезенным из Германии. Кирпичная кладка является важным декоративным элементом в общем оформлении храма. Барабаны центрального и малых куполов украшены орнаментами и майоликой. Три портала декорированы изящной скульптурой, «вылепленной» из бетона, имитирующей резьбу по камню с использованием мозаичных вставок.

Внешний облик церкви находится в полном единстве с характером решения его внутреннего пространства.  Храм украшен тремя деревянными резными иконостасами, покрытыми позолотой. Иконы в нем выполнены преподавателями Санкт-Петербургской Духовной Академии В. Т. Ждановой и И. Н. Кусовым. Настенную роспись Казанского храма восстанавливали и создавали художники Санкт-Петербургской Духовной Академии и иконописной школы Московской епархии г. Дубна.

В советские годы Казанская церковь использовалась для размещения механического цеха. Огромный вред зданию был нанесен постоянной вибрацией работающих станков. Возрождение храма началось в 1992 году, когда здание было передано епархии. Два года спустя церковь передали монашеской общине, а в 1996 году к открытию обители в храме появилась обновленная Казанская икона Божией Матери.