Famous building

Chapel

Address

Emb. R. Moika, 20 - Bolshaya Konyushennaya Str., 11

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1887-1889

Architects

L.N. Benoît

Style

Russian classicism with elements of the Italian Renaissance

The history of the academic chapel in Russia dates back to 1479 when Tsar Ivan III issued a decree on the founding of the choir of the sovereign singers, from which the modern academic chapel in St. Petersburg conducts its history. Nowadays it is the oldest professional choral collective in the country. Peter I himself participated in the choir, performing the bass part.

The modern building of the Chapel is located on the site of the mansion of architect J. Felten, which was given to the choir in 1808. By the Court Singing Chapel received his name the nearby Pevchesky Bridge across the Moika River.

In 1887-1889, a new building, according to the project of Leonid Benois, was built in the style of the Italian Renaissance and Russian classicism with a concert hall, which became one of the best in Europe in terms of acoustics. In 1927, the organ of the firm Walcker was installed in the Concert Hall of the Capella, transferred from the Dutch Reformed Church

Today the State Academic Chapel of St. Petersburg is one of the world's largest centers of musical culture. In addition to choral performances, in the Kapelle organ concerts and concerts of symphonic music by Russian and foreign composers are held.

Exploring the building of the Capella, be sure to go through its courtyards. Four walk-through yards create an alley from Moika embankment to the Bolshaya Konyushennaya Street between two residential buildings. There are cafes and a mini-hotel in the Courtyard of the Capella, concerts are held here in summer, including free ones. Here is the royal pavilion, destroyed during the siege and rebuilt in 2000.

Знаменитое здание

Капелла

Адрес

Наб. р. Мойки, 20 — Большая Конюшенная ул., 11

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1887–1889 годы

Архитектор

Л.Н. Бенуа

Стиль

русский классицизм с элементами итальянского Возрождения

Знаменитые здания /

История академической капеллы в России восходит к 1479 году, когда царь Иван III издал указ об основании хора государевых певчих дьяков, от которого ведет свою историю современная академическая капелла в Петербурге. На сегодня это старейший профессиональный хоровой коллектив в стране. В хоре участвовал сам Петр I, исполняя партию баса.

Современное здание Капеллы располагается на месте особняка архитектора Ю. Фельтена, который был передан хору в 1808 году. По Придворной певческой капелле получил свое имя и расположенный рядом Певческий мост через реку Мойку.

В 1887–1889 годах по проекту Леонида Бенуа здесь было построено новое здание в стиле итальянского Возрождения и русского классицизма с концертным залом, который стал одним из лучших в Европе в плане акустики.  В 1927 году в концертном зале Капеллы установили орган фирмы Walcker, перенесенный из Голландской реформатской церкви

Сегодня Государственная академическая капелла Санкт-Петербурга — один из крупнейших мировых центров музыкальной культуры. Кроме хоровых выступлений, в Капелле даются органные концерты и концерты симфонической музыки русских и зарубежных композиторов.

Осматривая здание Капеллы, обязательно пройдите ее дворами. Четыре проходных двора образуют клин, ведущий от набережной Мойки на Большую Конюшенную улицу между двумя жилыми корпусами. Во Дворах Капеллы работают кафе и мини-отель, летом здесь проходят концерты, в том числе бесплатные. Здесь же находится Царский павильон, разрушенный в годы блокады и заново отстроенный в 2000 году.