Church

The Church of the Resurrection of Christ at the Warsaw Railway Station

Address

Obvodniy canall, 116

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1904–1905

Architect

G. D. Grimm

Style

pseudo-Russian

Active Orthodox church

At the end of the XIX century the area near the Warsaw and Baltic railway stations was the outskirts of the capital where workers lived. The first wooden church was built here in 1894. It was truly a church for people, where besides worships, spiritual conversations and readings were also held. All of this made thousands of people rushing to this church. The church opened a school, a library and a reading room shortly. The Alexandro-Nevskoye Community of Sobriety originated from here. The Community numbered over 70 thousand people from the very beginning of its existence.

At the beginning of the XX century, the wooden church became too cramped for parishioners. The Community of Religious and Ethical Education took the decision to build a stone church on donations. Nicholas II approved the project of a three-way church designed by architect G.D. Grimm, and wished him success in construction work. The stone church was founded in 1904 marking the decade of the marriage of Emperor Nicholai Alexandrovich and Empress Alexandra Feodorovna. The consecration of the church took place in 1908, while the construction was not yet fully completed. In the basement of the church there was a printing house of the Alexandro-Nevsky Community of Sobriety.

After the revolution, the church was looted, and in 1930 it was closed. In the Soviet years the church premises housed a warehouse, a cinema, and a parachute platform on the bell tower. The church has been returned to the believers in 1990. Today, the parish of the Church of the Resurrection of Christ revives the traditions of the teetotal movement, as well as conducts educational and book publishing activities. The building still expects to be seriously restored.

Храм

Храм Воскресения Христова у Варшавского вокзала

Адрес

Обводный канал, 116

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1904–1905

Архитектор

Г. Д. Гримм

Стиль

неорусский

Храмы /

В конце XIX века местность близ Варшавского и Балтийского вокзалов была рабочей окраиной столицы. Первый деревянный храм здесь построили в 1894 году. Это был поистине народный храм, где помимо богослужений проводились духовные беседы и чтения, на которые народ устремлялся тысячами. Вскоре при храме открылись школа, библиотека и читальный зал. Именно здесь зародилось Александро-Невское Общество трезвости, которое в период расцвета насчитывало более 70 тысяч человек.

В начале XX века деревянная церковь стала тесна для прихожан, и Обществом религиозно-нравственного просвещения было решено построить каменный храм на народные пожертвования. Николай II утвердил проект трехпредельного храма архитектора Г. Д. Гримма, «пожелав успеха постройке». Каменный храм был заложен в 1904 году в ознаменование десятилетия бракосочетания императора Николая Александровича и императрицы Александры Федоровны.  Освящение храма состоялось в 1908 году, когда строительство еще не было полностью завершено. В подвале храма разместилась типография Александро-Невского Общества трезвости.

После революции храм был разграблен и в 1930 году закрыт. В советские годы в помещениях церкви находился склад, кинотеатр, на колокольне – парашютная площадка. Храм был возвращен верующим в 1990 году. В настоящее время приход Воскресенской церкви возрождает традиции трезвеннического движения, а также просветительскую и книгоиздательскую деятельность. Здание еще ожидает серьезной реставрации.