Church

Church of the Nativity in the Sands

Address

6th Sovetskaya st., 19А

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1781-1787

Architect

P.E. Egorov

Style

Classicism

The first parish wooden church in this place appeared in 1753 and was consecrated in honor of the Nativity of Christ. It was this church that gave the name of the Nativity part of St. Petersburg and ten Christmas (now Soviet) streets.

The large stone Nativity Temple on the Sands was erected in 1781-1787 according to the project of architect P.E. Egorova in the style of strict classicism. By its architectural solution, it resembled the Trinity Cathedral of the Alexander Nevsky Lavra.

In the XVIII-XX centuries, the temple was the urban development dominant and the spiritual center of the historical district of Pesky. Like many other churches in the USSR, it became a victim of the anti-religious policies of the Communists and was blown up in 1934. Currently, a complete reconstruction of the church is underway according to old plans, photographs, descriptions. In June 2019, the domes were crowned with crosses.

The Temple on Sands is recognized as an object of cultural heritage and is taken under state protection by the order of the Committee for State Control, Use and Protection of Monuments of History and Culture as a historical site - a noteworthy place "Church of the Nativity of Christ on Sands", the center of the historical settlement (settlement) of the builders of St. Petersburg - Office ministers from the buildings of Her Imperial Majesty houses and gardens.

Храм

Храм Рождества Христова на Песках

Адрес

6-я Советская ул., 19А

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1781-1787

Архитектор

П.Е. Егоров

Стиль

классицизм

Первая приходская деревянная церковь в этом месте появилась в 1753 году и была освящена в честь Рождества Христова. Именно эта церковь дала название Рождественской части Санкт-Петербурга и десяти Рождественским (ныне Советским) улицам.

Большой каменный Рождественский храм на Песках возведен в 1781-1787 годах по проекту архитектора П.Е. Егорова в стиле строгого классицизма. По своему архитектурному решению он напоминал Троицкий собор Александро-Невской лавры.

В XVIII-XX веках храм являлся градостроительной доминантой и духовным центром исторического района Пески. Как и многие другие церкви в СССР, он стал жертвой антирелигиозной политики коммунистов и в 1934 году был взорван. В настоящее время ведется полное воссоздание церкви по старым планам, фотографиям, описаниям. В июне 2019 года купола были увенчаны крестами.

Храм на Песках признан объектом культурного наследия и взят под охрану государства распоряжением Комитета по государственному контролю, использованию и охране памятников истории и культуры как исторический участок — достопримечательное место «Церковь Рождества Христова на Песках», центр исторического поселения (слободы) строителей Санкт-Петербурга — служителей Конторы от строений Её Императорского Величества домов и садов.