Church

Temple-chapel on Sennaya

Address

Sennaya sq., next to the metro

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1753 (Spas-on-Sennaya), 2003 (memorial chapel)

Architect

Andrei Kvasov (Spas-on-Sennaya)

The chapel on Sennaya Square was built in 2003 and consecrated in 2005 in memory of the lost Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and consecrated in honor of the patron saint of commerce - the Holy Great Martyr John the New (Sochavsky). This martyr suffered for the faith in the 14th century in the city of Ackermann.

The church in the name of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Spas-on-Sennaya) was founded on July 20, 1753 by Archbishop Sylvester. The temple was built at the expense of the wealthy tax collector Savva Yakovlev (Sobakin) designed by architect Andrey Kvasov. According to some versions, the famous architect Bartolomeo Rastrelli also participated in its creation. In 1761–1765 the temple was consecrated.

The architecture of the temple was designed in a mixed style. The magnificent building was crowned with five domes on multifaceted drums. The three-tiered bell tower ended with an elongated dome, with a high refectory adjacent to it. The high gilded iconostasis of the church was considered one of the best in St. Petersburg.

Outstanding value of the temple were the bells. Among the fifteen bells of the temple were the best examples of works of domestic art casting. The largest of them was cast in Moscow at the Jason Strugovshchikov plant and weighed 8,900 kg. Noteworthy were also the paintings of the Greek letter and the silver throne.

The church was rebuilt several times. In Soviet times, it suffered the fate of many churches: in the 1920s, all valuables from the church were removed, in April 1938, the temple was closed, and on February 1, 1961 it was blown up for the construction of the lobby of the Ploshchad Mira metro station (now the Metro station "Sennaya square").

In the 1970s, architect-restorer D.A. Butyrin developed a project to restore the temple. Activities to rebuild the church intensified in the 1990s, and in the early 2000s, the city gave permission. However, the project has not yet been implemented.

In 2003, a chapel was erected in memory of the lost Church of the Savior on Sennaya, in 2016-2017 it was reconstructed and expanded. It is active, above the door of the chapel the image of the Iberian Mother of God is placed.

Храм

Храм-часовня на Сенной

Адрес

Сенная площадь, у станции метро

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1753 (Спас-на-Сенной), 2003 (памятная часовня)

Архитектор

Андрей Квасов (Спас-на-Сенной)

Часовня на Сенной площади построена в 2003 и освящена в 2005 году в память об утраченном храме Успения Пресвятой Богородицы и освящена в честь покровителя торговли - святого великомученика Иоанна Нового (Сочавского). Этот мученик пострадал за веру в 14 веке в городе Аккермане.

Церковь во имя Успения Пресвятой Богородицы (Спас-на-Сенной) была заложена 20 июля 1753 года архиепископом Сильвестром. Храм строился на средства богатого откупщика Саввы Яковлева (Собакина) по проекту архитектора Андрея Квасова. По некоторым версиям, в ее создании участвовал и знаменитый зодчий Бартоломео Растрелли. В 1761–1765 годах храм был освящен.

Архитектура храма была выдержана в смешанном стиле. Величественное здание увенчивали пять куполов на многогранных барабанах. Трехъярусная колокольня завершалась удлиненным куполом, к ней примыкала высокая трапезная. Высокий позолоченный иконостас храма считался одним из лучших в Петербурге.

Выдающейся ценностью храма были колокола. Среди пятнадцати колоколов храма были лучшие образчики произведений отечественного художественного литья. Самый большой из них был отлит в Москве на заводе Ясона Струговщикова и весил 8 900 кг. Примечательны были также живопись греческого письма и серебряный престол.

Церковь несколько раз перестраивали. В советское время ее постигла участь многих храмов: в 1920-е годы все ценности из церкви были изъяты, в апреле 1938 года храм был закрыт, а 1 февраля 1961 года его взорвали ради строительства вестибюля станции метрополитена «Площадь Мира» (ныне метро «Сенная площадь»).

В 1970-х годах архитектор-реставратор Д.А. Бутырин разрабатывал проект восстановления храма. Деятельность по воссозданию церкви активизировалась в 1990х годах, и в начале 2000-х город дал разрешение. Однако проект пока не реализован.

В 2003 году в память об утраченной церкви Спаса-на-Сенной была возведена часовня, в 2016–2017 годах ее реконструировали и расширили.  Она действующая, над дверью часовни помещен образ Иверской Божьей Матери.