Famous building

Main Post Office

Address

Pochtamtskaya Str. 9

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1782-1789

Architects

N.A. Lvov, L.I. Novikov and others

Style

classicism

The building of the Main Post Office was built at the end of the XVIII century, commissioned by Catherine II favorite the Most Sovereign Prince A.A. Bezborodko. Originally it was a service room at the Post Office, the so-called Postal Station, the post office itself was in Yaguzhinsky's house on the opposite side of Pochtampskaya Street.

The Main Post Office building is made in the traditional classical style and decorated with four-columned porticos with pediments. The side wings of the building are also decorated with pilasters, combining the two upper floors. The first floor did not have windows - in their place, there were niches designed for statues, which, however, were not installed.

The large inner courtyard of the Post Mill (now the operating room) was originally a maintenance yard. Stables, sheds, workshops, glaciers, etc. were here. In the second and third floors, there were barracks for the lower workers of the Post Office and the apartments of officials.

The Post Office building was rebuilt three times. In 1801-1803, when the Chief Postal Department moved here, the architect E.T. Sokolov made a series of internal rearrangements and broke through the windows in the first floor. In 1859, according to the project of A.K. Kavos transitional gallery over Pochtamtskaya street was built.

In 1903, according to the project of engineer L.I. Novikov former economic courtyard of the Post Office was blocked by a double glass lantern. So the central operating room appeared, which became the first St. Petersburg atrium, and the task acquired its modern look.

Достопримечательность

Главпочтамт

Адрес

Почтамтская ул., 9

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1782-1789 годы

Архитектор

Н.А. Львов и др.

Стиль

классицизм

Здание Главного почтамта было построено в конце XVIII века по заказу фаворита Екатерины II Светлейшего Князя А.А. Безбородко. Первоначально это было служебное помещение при почтамте, так называемый Почтовый стан, само же почтовое управление находилось в доме Ягужинского на противоположной стороне Почтамтской улицы.

Здание Главпочтамта выполнено в традиционном классическом стиле и украшено четырехколонными портиками с фронтонами. Боковые крылья здания также украшены пилястрами, объединяющими два верхних этажа. Первый этаж не имел окон –  на их месте были устроены ниши, предназначенные для статуй, которые, однако, не были установлены.

Большой внутренний двор Почтового стана (ныне операционный зал) первоначально был хозяйственным двором. Сюда выходили конюшни, сараи, мастерские, ледники и т.п. Во втором и третьем этажах находились казармы для нижних чинов почтового  ведомства и квартиры чиновников.

Здание Почтамта перестраивалось трижды. В 1801–1803 годах, когда сюда переехало Главное почтовое управление, архитектор Е.Т. Соколов произвел ряд внутренних перестроек и пробил окна в первом этаже. В 1859 году по проекту  А.К. Кавоса была сооружена переходная галерея над Почтамтской улицей.

В 1903 году по проекту инженера Л.И. Новикова бывший хозяйственный двор Почтамта перекрыли двойным стеклянным фонарем. Так появился центральный операционный зал, ставший первым петербургским атриумом, и задание приобрело свой современный облик.