Famous building

Guardhouse on Sennaya

Address

Sadovaya Str. 37 / Sennaya pl., 2x

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1820

Architects

B. I. Beretti

Style

classicism

The monumental pavilion with a four-columned portico retained its historical architectural appearance. It was a single ensemble with the now-lost Church of the Savior on Sennaya, the entrance to which was decorated with the same columns.

In the guardhouse building was a military guard. This is the only structure preserved in St. Petersburg, typical for the outposts and "guardhouses" of the beginning of the XIX century. And it was in this building in March 1874 that F.M. Dostoevsky spent several days under the arrest. Being the editor of the magazine "Grazhdanin", he made political mistakes in the note about the stay of Kirghiz deputies in St.Petersburg and was arrested for violating the censorship statute.

In 1886, the building housed the city's sanitary laboratory, where the products brought to the Sennaya market were subjected to analysis. Before the First World War, there was a perfume and drug store, after the revolution the laboratory of the Sanitary Department of the Commissariat of Health was there. From 1957 to 1987, there was a bus station, then a terrarium.

Now in the building of the guardhouse is the "City Tourist Information Bureau", where you can get a verbal reference and free information materials, and visit the exhibition.

Достопримечательность

Гауптвахта на Сенной

Адрес

Садовая ул., 37/Сенная пл., 2х

Год постройки

1820 год

Архитектор

В.И. Беретти

Стиль

классицизм

Монументальный павильон с четырехколонным портиком сохранил свой исторический архитектурный облик. Он составлял единый ансамбль с ныне утраченной церковью Спас на Сенной, вход в которую был украшен такими же колоннами.

В здании гауптвахты  размещался военный караул. Это единственное сохранившееся в Петербурге сооружение, типичное для застав и «караульных домов» начала XIX века. И именно в этом здании в марте 1874 года провел несколько дней под арестом Ф.М. Достоевский. Будучи редактором журнала «Гражданин», он допустил политические ошибки в заметке о пребывании киргизских депутатов в Петербурге, и был арестован за нарушение цензурного устава.

В 1886 году в здании разместилась городская санитарная лаборатория, где подвергались анализу продукты, привезенные на Сенной рынок. Перед Первой мировой войной здесь находился парфюмерно-аптекарский магазин, после революции — лаборатория Санитарного отдела Комиссариата здравоохранения. С 1957 по 1987 годы здесь располагался автобусный вокзал, затем террариум. 

Сейчас в здании Гауптвахты находится «Городское Туристско-Информационное Бюро», где можно получить устную справку и бесплатные информационные материалы, посетить выставки.