Church

The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Saint Mary

Address

Bolshaya Konyushennaya, Str. 8A

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1803-1805

Architect

G.-X. Paulsen

Style

classicism

An active Evangelical-Lutheran church

In 1734 the Swedish-Finnish community in St. Petersburg received a parcel of land in the area of the modern Nevsky Prospekt where a prayer house was built. However, in 1745 the communities were divided and the Swedes built their own church nearby. The prayer house was completely placed at the disposal of the Finns. Over time, the wooden building was dilapidated and a stone church was built in its place.

The construction was carried out from 1803 till 1805 based on the project of an architect G.-H. Paulens, a student of Yu. M. Felten. The main western façade of the church faces the Bolshaya Konyushennaya Str. It is decorated with a columned portico completed with a triangular pediment. The church is crowned with a small spherical dome.

The building of the church organically blended with the construction of the Bolshaya Konyushennaya Street and finished the prospect of Volynsky Lane. In the second half of the XIX century the architect K. K. Andersen (and later L.N. Benois) made small changes in the appearance of the facades and interiors of the church.

 In 1938 the church was closed. Since 1970 the “Nature’s House” was in the temple building.

The revival of the Finnish community began at the end of the 20th century. In 1990 the church was returned to the community and a serious restoration of the building began. Today the temple is the center of the independent Evangelical Lutheran Church of Ingria. The divine services are held here as well as concerts and folk festivals.

Храм

Финская кирха Святой Марии

Адрес

Большая Конюшенная ул., 8А

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1803-1805

Архитектор

Г.-Х. Паульсен

Стиль

классицизм

Сайт

Храмы /

В 1734 году шведско-финская община  в Петербурге получила  в дар участок земли в районе современного Невского проспекта, где был построен молитвенный дом. Однако в 1745 году общины разделились, и шведы построили собственную церковь неподалеку, а  молитвенный дом  полностью перешел  в распоряжение финнов. Со временем  деревянное здание обветшал, и на его месте построили каменную кирху.

Строительство велось с 1803 по 1805 годы по проекту архитектора Г.-Х. Паульсена, ученика Ю. М. Фельтена. Главный западный фасад храма обращен на Большую Конюшенную улицу. Его  украшает колонный портик, завершенный треугольным фронтоном. Венчает церковь небольшой сферический купол.

Здание кирхи органично вписалось в застройку Большой Конюшенной улицы и замкнуло перспективу Волынского переулка. Во второй половине XIX века архитектором  К. К. Андерсеном (еще позднее – Л. Н. Бенуа) были  внесены небольшие изменения в облик фасадов и интерьеров церкви.

В 1938 году кирху закрыли, с 1970 в здании храма работал «Дом природы».

Возрождение финской общины началось в конце XX века. В 1990 году церковь была возвращена общине,  началась серьезная реставрация здания. Сегодня храм является центром самостоятельной Евангелическо-лютеранской церкви Ингрии. Здесь проводятся службе, а также концерты и фольклорные праздники.