Famous building

Finland Station

Address

Lenin sq., 6

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

24 hours

Years of foundation

1870, 1955–1960

Architects

P.S. Kupinsky (old building), P.A. Ashastin, N.V. Baranov, Y.N. Lukin, engineer I.A. Rybin

Style

Modern

The first station building was erected in 1870 on Simbirskaya Street for the Finland Railway. The railway connecting Petersburg and Finland was built in 1862-1870. The station in St. Petersburg was built jointly by architects of Russia and Finland: the building project was developed by the Russian architect P.S. Kupinsky, and the decoration of the interiors was performed by the Finns V. Westling and P. Degener. The one-story building was simple and very modest.

Finland Station is known in connection with the revolutionary events and the name of V.I. Lenin, who repeatedly returned here from exile. In the glass pavilion near the platform there is a historical steam locomotive No. 293, on which Lenin left Petrograd on August 9, 1917, hiding from the persecution of the Provisional Government, and returned on October 7 to lead the October Revolution. In 1957, the Finnish government donated the steam locomotive to the Soviet Union, and in 1961 it took its place at the station.

The station was the only one operating during the years of the blockade: the Road of Life began here. In memory of this, in 1973, the first of 56 kilometer-long memorial pillars was installed on the platform.

In the 1950s, a new modern station building was erected, facing the Neva. It was opened on June 4, 1960. Seventeen glazed vertical openings cut through the plane of the facade; sculptural reliefs on the themes of the 1917 revolution are located above them. A rectangular clock tower stands out in the center of the building, its height is 16 meters, not counting the 30-meter spire crowned with a star.

In the 1970s, almost all the side buildings of the old station were dismantled, except for the central risalit, which was included in one of the new buildings. This fragment of the old building is protected by the state as a historical monument.

A number of mystical coincidences connected with the name of V.I. Lenin are connected with the Finland Station. Thus, the construction of the Finland Railway was completed in 1870, the year the leader of the revolution was born, and the historical name of Komsomol Street, on which the station is located, is Simbirskaya. As you know, in the city of Simbirsk (now Ulyanovsk) V.I. Lenin was born.

Suburban trains depart from the station to the resorts of the Karelian Isthmus, the Lastochka train to Karelia, as well as the high-speed Allegro long-distance trains with the St. Petersburg - Helsinki link.

Достопримечательность

Финляндский вокзал

Адрес

пл. Ленина, 6

Ежедневно

Круглосуточно

Год постройки

1870, 1955–1960

Архитектор

П.С. Купинский (старое здание), П.А. Ашастин, Н.В. Баранов, Я.Н. Лукин, инженер И.А. Рыбин

Стиль

современный

Первое здание вокзала было возведено в 1870 году на Симбирской улице для Финляндской железной дороги. Железная дорога, связывающая Петербург и Финляндию, была построена в 1862–1870 годах. Вокзал в Петербурге возводили совместно архитекторы России и Финляндии: проект здания разработал русский архитектор П.С. Купинский, а отделку интерьеров выполнили финны В. Вестлинг и П. Дегенер. Одноэтажное здание было простым и очень скромным, но удобным.

Финляндский вокзал известен в связи с революционными событиями и именем В.И. Ленина, который неоднократно возвращался сюда из эмиграции. В стеклянном павильоне у перрона стоит исторический паровоз № 293, на котором Ленин 9 августа 1917 года покинул Петроград, скрываясь от преследования Временного правительства, а 7 октября вернулся, чтобы возглавить Октябрьский переворот. В 1957 году правительство Финляндии передало паровоз в дар Советскому Союзу, и в 1961 году он занял свое место на вокзале.

Вокзал был единственным, действовавшим в годы блокады: здесь начиналась «Дорога жизни». В память об этом в 1973 году на перроне был установлен первый из 56 мемориальных километровых столбов.

В 1950-х годах было возведено новое современное здание вокзала, обращённое к Неве. Он был открыт  4 июня 1960 года. Плоскость фасада прорезают семнадцать остекленных вертикальных проемов, над ними расположены скульптурные рельефы на темы революции 1917 года. В центре здания выделяется прямоугольная башня с часами, ее высота —16 метров, не считая 30-метрового шпиля, увенчанного звездой.

В 1970-е годы были разобраны почти все боковые корпуса старого вокзала, кроме центрального ризалита, включенного в одно из новых зданий. Этот фрагмент старого здания охраняется государством как памятник истории.

С Финляндским вокзалом связано несколько мистических совпадений. Так, строительство Финляндской железной дороги было завершено в 1870 году – в год рождения вождя революции, а историческое название улицы Комсомола, на которой находится вокзал, — Симбирская. Как известно, в городе Симбирск (ныне Ульяновск) родился В.И. Ленин.

С вокзала отправляются пригородные поезда к курортам Карельского перешейка, поезда «Ласточка» в Карелию, а также скоростные поезда дальнего следования «Аллегро» сообщением Санкт-Петербург — Хельсинки.