Famous building

Egyptian house

Address

Zakharievskaya Str. 23

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1911–1913

Architects

M.A. Songailo

Style

modern

Ordering the project to the Polish architect Michael Sogailo, the wife of the state councilor Nezhinsky set the task of creating something original, capable of hitting a secular society. Sogailo was an adherent of neoclassicism and modernity, besides, as many people of the art of the beginning of the XX century showed interest in mysticism, occultism, Masonic signs, the findings of antiquity.

The house made a furor in St. Petersburg, after it the name "Egyptian" was permanently fixed. In the central part of the facade between the windows are eight massive half-columns, each of which ends with three masks - the heads of Egyptians. In the center there is an arch, its ceiling and walls are entirely decorated with images of flying birds, winged solar disks. On either side of the arch, there are two symmetrical entrances, each door has statues of the sun god Ra in loincloths with crossed arms. The whole facade is generously decorated with bas-reliefs depicting goddesses, scenes from life, mostly agricultural works, discs with mythical creatures, half-columns, pilasters.

The internal structure of the house was advanced for that time - with a rationally planned layout, an elevated automated elevator system "Shtigler". In the 1910s, the Romanian and Belgian embassies were located here.

The house is almost completely preserved in its original form, only in the socle appeared windows. Today, the elite housing here, on the ground floors are offices, shops, cafes.

Достопримечательность

Египетский дом

Адрес

Захарьевская ул., 23

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1911–1913 годы

Архитектор

М.А. Сонгайло

Стиль

модерн

Заказывая проект польскому архитектору Михаилу Согайло, жена статского советника Нежинского  поставила задачу создать что-то оригинальное, способное поразить светское общество. Согайло был приверженцем неоклассицизма и модерна, к тому же, как многие люди искусства начала XX века проявлял интерес к мистике, оккультизму, масонским знакам, учениям древности.

Дом произвел фурор в Петербурге,  за ним навсегда закрепилось название «Египетский».  В центральной части фасада между окнами размещены восемь массивных полуколонн, каждая из которых завершается тремя масками — головами египтянок. В центре расположена арка, ее потолок и стены сплошь украшены изображениями летящих птиц, крылатых солнечных дисков. По обе стороны от арки — два симметричных подъезда, у каждой двери стоят статуи бога солнца Ра в набедренных повязках со скрещенными руками. Весь фасад щедро украшен барельефами с изображениями богинь, сценами из жизни, в основном, сельскохозяйственными работами, дисками с мифическими существами, полуколоннами, пилястрами.

Внутреннее устройство дома  было передовым для того времени — с рационально продуманной планировкой, подъемным автоматизированным лифтом системы «Штиглер». В 1910-х годах здесь размещались Румынское и Бельгийское посольства.

Дом почти полностью сохранился в первоначальном виде, только в цоколе появились окна. Сегодня здесь элитное жилье, на первых этажах расположены офисы, магазины, кафе.