The Courts of the House of Three Benois

Address

Kamennoostrovsky Ave, 26-28

Daily

The apartment house of the First Russian Insurance Company, called "The House of Three Benois" among the people, is a huge residential complex with a yard leading to Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt, Bolshaya, Pushkarskaya, Kronverkskaya, and Bolshaya Monetnaya Street. It was built in 1911-1914 by the project of the brothers-architects Leonti, Albert and Julia Benois in neo-classical style.

It was one of the most comfortable houses of the early twentieth century, a "city in the city" for 250 apartments, with advanced engineering communications, a power station, a boiler house, and garages, etc. The complex was serviced by twenty janitors. In Soviet times, the "fathers" of Leningrad lived here, beginning with S.M. Kirov. A composer Dmitry Shostakovich lived here as well, whose bust is installed in an open courtyard from the side of Kronverkskaya street.

The courtyards of the House of Benoit represent a real maze, there are more than ten of them, from the grand Courtyard to the St. Petersburg "wells" with bizarrely curving arches. Turning into the next gateway, you never know to which of the four streets you will get.

Дворы Дома трех Бенуа

Адрес

Каменноостровский пр., 26-28

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1911–1914

Архитектор

братья Бенуа

Стиль

Неоклассицизм, модерн

Доходный дом Первого Российского страхового общества, называемый в народе «Дом трех Бенуа», — это огромный жилой комплекс с проходными дворами, выходящими на Каменноостровский проспект, Большую Пушкарскую, Кронверкскую и Большую Монетную улицы. Он был построен в 1911–1914 годах по проекту братьев-архитекторов Леонтия, Альберта и Юлия Бенуа в стиле неоклассицизм с элементами модерна.

Это был один из самых благоустроенных домов начала ХХ века, «город в городе» на 250 квартир, с передовыми инженерными коммуникациями, электростанцией, котельной, встроенными гаражами и т.д. Комплекс обслуживали двадцать дворников. В советское время здесь жили «отцы» Ленинграда, начиная с С.М. Кирова. Жил в этом доме и композитор Дмитрий Шостакович, чей бюст установлен в открытом дворе со стороны Кронверкской улицы.

Дворы Дома Бенуа представляют собой настоящий лабиринт, их здесь более десяти — от парадных дворов-курдонеров до петербургских «колодцев» с причудливо изгибающимися арками. Свернув в очередную подворотню, никогда не знаешь, на какую из четырех улиц выведет тебя этот путь.