Philology faculty courtyard

Address

Universitetskaya Embankment, 11

Weekdays, Sunday

Closed

Saturday

13:00 – 17:00

The park of modern urban sculpture in the courtyard of the philological faculty of St. Petersburg State University is open for visitors only once a week, on Saturdays from 13.00. But there is something to see.

The park was created on the initiative of the dean of philology Sergey Bogdanov. It is believed that it was born on October 21, 2002, when Arsen Avetisyan's sculpture "Reflections on the Little Prince" was installed here. Since then, the courtyard is replenished with new and new exhibits.

November 16, 2005, it was here that the first monument to the poet Joseph Brodsky was opened. The sculpture "Brodsky returned" by Konstantin Simun depicts a life-sized suitcase with a tag in the name of Brodsky. On the suitcase is a stone slab with the poet's head.

In 2010, a monument to the poet Osip Mandelstam and his wife Nadezhda was installed here. It is called the "Monument of Love" and is made in the form of a couple hovering on the wings of love and united into one. The authors of the monument are the Dutch sculptor Hanneke de Munch and her husband, the artist Sittse Bakker, the pedestal was created by the Russian sculptor Khachatur White.

Little Hippo Thonya is a working sculpture of Vladimir Petrovichev that appeared on October 14, 2005. According to the legend, two lovers were to be separated, and they jumped into a stormy river, but the hippo rescued them. Students rub the hippopotamus right ear to marry successfully.

Comic composition "Bench of Advices" was opened on November 1, 2006. Sculptors Olga Sagakon and Dmitry Chebotarev at one end of the bench depicted an angel and on the other an imp.

A dozen exhibits can be seen in the courtyard of the philology faculty.

Дворик Филфака

Адрес

Университетская наб., 11

Будние дни, Воскресенье

Выходной

Суббота

13:00 – 17:00

Парк современной городской скульптуры во дворике филологического факультета СПбГУ открыт для посетителей только один раз в неделю – по субботам с 13.00. Но там есть, что посмотреть.

Парк был создан  по инициативе декана  филфака Сергея Богданова. Считается, что он родился 21 октября 2002 года, когда тут была установлена скульптура Арсена Аветисяна «Размышления о маленьком принце».  С тех пор дворик пополняется новыми и новыми экспонатами.

16 ноября 2005 года именно здесь был открыт первый памятник поэту Иосифу Бродскому. Скульптура «Бродский вернулся» работы Константина Симуна изображает чемодан в натуральную величину с биркой на имя Бродского. На чемодане — каменная плита с головой поэта.

В 2010 году установлен памятник поэту Осипу Мандельштаму  и его жене Надежде. Он носит название «Памятник любви» и выполнен в виде пары, парящей на крыльях любви и соединенной в одно целое. Авторы монумента — голландский скульптор Ханнеке де Мунк и ее муж, художник Ситсе Баккер, постамент создал российский скульптор Хачатур Белый.

Маленькая бегемотиха Тоня работы скульптура Владимира Петровичева появилась 14 октября 2005 года. По легенде, двух влюбленных хотели разлучить, и они прыгнули в бурную реку, но бегемотиха спасла их. Студентки, чтобы удачно выйти замуж, потирают бегемоту правое ухо.

Шуточная композиция «Скамья Советов» открылась 1 ноября 2006 года. Скульпторы Ольга Сагаконь и Дмитрий Чеботарев на одном конце скамейки изобразили ангела, а на другой – беса.

Всего во дворе филфака можно увидеть несколько десятков экспонатов.