Palace

The Palace of Grand Duke Vladimir Alexandrovich

Address

Dvortsovaya Embankment, 26

Daily

Years of foundation

1867-1872

Architects

A.I. Rezanov

The palace was erected by the architect A.I. Rezanov under the state order for the Grand Duke Vladimir Alexandrovich. The building is an artistic standard of the style of "historicism" in Russia.

Grand parlors, the Ballroom, the reception room of Grand Duchess Maria Pavlovna are done in the style of rococo. The "Crimson Lounge" and the personal library of the Grand Duke recreate the Renaissance style, the dining room is the Gothic style. The boudoir is executed in the Moorish style. From the interiors in the Russian style, one of the best ceremonial halls - Oak (Grand Banquet), created by  Rezanov and V.A. Shreter, has survived. The main staircase of the Palace with its elegant turn to the White Hall and unique painted mirrors of the Italian master T. Kelazzi is distinguished by special refinement.

When planning and decorating the interiors, the architects took into account the high state status of Grand Duke Vladimir Alexandrovich, the son of Emperor Alexander II and the brother of Emperor Alexander III.

In 1888-1893, the interiors of the palace were reconstructed under the guidance of the architect M.E. Mesmakher. On the first floor was created the Lower Banquet Hall with a Venetian vaulted ceiling. On the second floor appeared the Rotunda Library in the style of the German Middle Ages. One of the undoubted adornments of the Palace was the "Golden Staircase" in the style of Louis XIV.

In 1893-1903, the court architect N. von Gauguin carried out the reconstruction of the premises on the half of Grand Duke Vladimir Alexandrovich and, together with the architect R. Melzer, re-executed Vladimir Alexandrovich's cabinet in the Art Nouveau style. In 1910, the court architect A. Pronin at the request of Grand Duchess Maria Pavlovna creates a Winter Garden on the second floor.

Most of the ceremonial rooms and living rooms have reached our time almost in their original form. Here you can see numerous items of residential interior: furniture sets, lighting fixtures, a collection of porcelain, unique mirrors, etc.

After the revolution, the first in our country House of Scientific Intelligentsia - now the House of Scientists was organized here.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Дворец Великого князя Владимира Александровича

Адрес

Дворцовая наб., 26

Ежедневно

Расписание работы

для внешнего осмотра

Год постройки

1867-1872

Архитекторы

А.И. Резанов

Стиль

Неоренессанс

Дворец возведен архитектором А. И. Резановым по государственному заказу для Великого князя Владимира Александровича. Здание является художественным эталоном стиля «историзм» в России.

Парадные гостиные, Танцевальный зал, приемный кабинет Великой княгини Марии Павловны выполнены в стиле рококо. «Малиновая гостиная» и личная библиотека Великого князя воссоздают стиль ренессанса, столовая — готический стиль. Будуар выполнен в мавританском стиле. Из интерьеров в русском стиле сохранился один из лучших парадных залов — Дубовый (Большой банкетный), созданный А. И. Резановым и В.А. Шретером. Особой изысканностью отличается Главная лестница Дворца с ее изящным разворотом к Белому залу и уникальными расписными зеркалами итальянского мастера Т.Келацци.

При планировке и отделке интерьеров архитекторы учитывали высокий государственный статус Великого князя Владимира Александровича, сына императора Александра II и брата императора Александра III.

В 1888-1893 годы перестраиваются интерьеры дворца под руководством архитектора М. Е. Месмахера. На первом этаже был создан Нижний банкетный зал со сводчатым потолком в венецианском стиле. На втором этаже появилась Библиотека-Ротонда в стиле немецкого средневековья. Одним из несомненных украшений Дворца стала «Золотая лестница» в стиле Людовика XIV.

В 1893-1903 годы придворный архитектор Н. фон Гоген осуществляет реконструкцию помещений на половине Великого князя Владимира Александровича и совместно с архитектором Р. Мельцером переоформляет кабинет Владимира Александровича в стиле модерн. В 1910 году Придворный архитектор А. Пронин по желанию Великой княгини Марии Павловны создает Зимний сад на втором этаже.

Большая часть парадных залов и гостиных дошли до нашего времени практически в первозданном виде. Здесь можно увидеть многочисленные предметы жилого интерьера: мебельные гарнитуры, осветительные приборы, коллекцию фарфора, уникальные зеркала и др.

После революции здесь был организован первый в нашей стране Дом научной интеллигенции — ныне Дом ученых.