Museum

Menshikov Palace

Address

Universitetskaya emb., 15

Category

Art museums

Monday

Closed

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Weekend

12:00 – 19:00

Timetable

Closed: January 1st, May 9th.

Entrance fee

Adults - 300 rubles., Foreign tourists - 700 rubles. Children of preschool and school age, students and pensioners - free of charge. The first Thursday of each month and December 7 are the days of free visit for all.

The palace of the first governor of St. Petersburg, Alexander Danilovich Menshikov who was a close associate of Peter the Great, is located on Vasilievsky Island.

The palace was built in the 1710-1721 by the architects Giovanni Maria Fontana and Gottfried Johann Schädel. This is the largest stone building in St. Petersburg of the time of Peter the Great. The Palace was the center of a sprawling estate. The building was surrounded by a well-attended garden decorated with numerous sculptures, beautiful fountains, dark grottoes and greenhouses. A pier was built on the bank of the Neva River. Here was the official residence of A.D. Menshikov -who was the General Governer of the capital.

After the disgrace of Menshikov in 1727, the palace was passed to the treasury. Later it was rebuilt according to the project of Domenico Trezzini, and since 1731 it turned over to the "Land Nobility Corps". In 1800, it was renamed to the 1 st Cadet Corps. After the revolution of 1917, various educational institutions were located in the building. The Museum first opened its doors to the visitors in 1981.

Today an exposition called "Culture of Russia of the first third of the XVIII century" is located in the halls of the Palace. Works of fine art and decorative applied art from the collections of the State Hermitage recreate the decoration of the interiors of that period. Visitors can see the restored vestibule and the main staircase, the Menshikov’s Walnut cabinet, reception room, bedroom, dining room and chambers of D.M. Menshikova. There are peculiar rooms decorated with white and blue Dutch tiles.

Музей

Дворец Меншикова

Адрес

Университетская наб., 15

Понедельник

Выходной

Вторник, Среда, Четверг, Пятница, Выходные дни

12:00 – 19:00

Расписание работы

Выходные дни: 1 января, 9 мая

Стоимость билетов

Единый входной билет (Основной музейный комплекс, Зимний дворец Петра I, Восточное крыло Главного штаба, Дворец Меншикова и Музей Императорского фарфорового завода) – 800 руб.
Взрослые – 400 руб.; иностранные туристы – 700 руб.; дети дошкольного и школьного возраста, студенты и пенсионеры – бесплатно. Первый четверг каждого месяца и 7 декабря – дни бесплатного посещения для всех.

Дворец первого губернатора Санкт-Петербурга Александра Даниловича Меншикова, сподвижника Петра Великого, находится на Васильевском острове.

Дворец, архитекторами которого были Д. Фонтана и Г.И. Шедель, построен в 1710–1721 годах. Это крупнейшее каменное здание Петербурга петровского времени. Дворец был центром обширной усадьбы. На прилегавшей территории был разбит регулярный сад со скульптурой, фонтанами, гротами, оранжереями, а со стороны Невы устроена пристань. Здесь находилась официальная резиденция А.Д. Меншикова — генерал-губернатора столицы.

После опалы Меншикова в 1727 году дворец был взят в казну. Затем его перестроили по проекту Д. Трезини, и с 1731 года здесь размещался Сухопутный шляхетный корпус. В 1800 году он был переименован в 1-й кадетский корпус. После революции 1917 года здание занимали различные учебные заведения. Музей во дворце открылся в 1981 году.

Сегодня в залах дворца располагается экспозиция «Культура России первой трети XVIII века». Произведения изобразительного и декоративно-прикладного искусства из коллекций Государственного Эрмитажа воссоздают убранство интерьеров того периода. Посетители могут увидеть восстановленные вестибюль и парадную лестницу, Ореховый кабинет, приемную, спальню, столовую, покои Д.М. Меншиковой. Очень своеобразны комнаты, отделанные бело-голубыми голландскими изразцами.