Palace and park ensemble Sergievka

Address

Peterhof, Oranienbaum road, 2

Daily

Years of foundation

1839-1942

Architects

A.I. Stenschneider

Style

Late Classicism

Sergievka - the palace and park ensemble in Peterhof, the former estate of the Dukes of Leuchtenberg.

The estate was named after the first owner of these lands - Sergei Petrovich Rumyantsev, son of Field Marshal Pyotr Aleksandrovich Rumyantsev-Zadunaysky.

In 1822, Rumyantsev sold the estate to Kirill Naryshkin. In 1838, Emperor Nicholas I purchased the Naryshkinsky dacha. He bought these lands into the treasury to make a wedding present to his daughter Maria Nikolaevna, who was going to marry the Duke of Leuchtenberg.

The creation of a magnificent park was done by the garden master P.I. Erler, and the two-story palace in the style of late classicism was erected in the years 1839-1842 by the architect A.I. Stackenschneider. The palace resembled an antique villa surrounded by gallery terraces. To enhance the effect, authentic antique fragments were built into the walls of the palace. The front rooms were decorated with molding and painting, furniture according to the drawings of the Shtakenschneider was created by the master Heinrich Gams.

The palace overlooked the Gulf of Finland. The palace was surrounded by flower beds, terraces were decorated with climbing plants. A cascade of ponds with dams and bridges was arranged in the park, in line with the stream flowing along the ravine. Both at the palace and in the park numerous sculptures and statues were erected. One of the most remarkable sculptures is a huge, boulder that has grown into the ground with the face of an unknown hero carved on it. The history of its creation remains a mystery, which historians and art historians have been arguing about for many years.

After 1917, the park was taken under state protection, and the Children's Commune was organized on the estate. During the war, the estate was on the front line of the Oranienbaum bridgehead, the park and buildings were badly damaged.

In the postwar years, Leningrad University carried out work on the improvement of the park. In 1965, designed architect V.I. Zeidemann mainly restored the facades of the palace, and in 1969, according to the project of the architect K.D. Agapova park facilities were restored.

Now the palace and park ensemble "Sergievka" is a historical and cultural monument of federal significance, and the surrounding park - the habitat of rare species of plants and animals - is a specially protected natural area, a natural monument of regional significance.

***

Sergievka is included in the excursion program of the city project "Open City". This is a joint project of the St. Petersburg city branch of the All-Russian Society for the Protection of Monuments of History and Culture and the Committee on State Control, Use and Protection of Monuments of History and Culture. It is implemented with the support of the Government of St. Petersburg, so that all participants can attend events for free.

The mission of the Open City project is to acquaint residents and guests of St. Petersburg with the unique cultural heritage of our city, to open the doors of the most beautiful mansions, palaces, estates, iconic structures of industrial architecture that were previously inaccessible to the public.

Any citizen of Russia registered on the project’s website can attend Open City events. The activities include different types of excursions (walking, bus, bicycle), trips on retro-transport, historical quests, lectures on the history, architecture and culture of St. Petersburg, master classes for children and adults.

Знаменитое здание

Дворцово-парковый ансамбль Сергиевка

Адрес

г. Петергоф, Ораниенбаумское шоссе, 2

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1839–1942

Архитектор

А.И. Штакеншнейдер

Стиль

Поздний классицизм

Сергиевка — дворцово-парковый ансамбль в Петергофе, бывшая усадьба герцогов Лейхтенбергских.

Свое название усадьба получила по имени первого владельца этих земель — Сергея Петровича Румянцева, сына фельдмаршала Петра Александровича Румянцева-Задунайского.

В 1822 году Румянцев продал усадьбу Кириллу Нарышкину. В 1838 году Нарышкинскую дачу приобрёл император Николай I. Он выкупил эти земли в казну, чтобы сделать свадебный подарок своей дочери Марии Николаевне, выходящей замуж за герцога Лейхтенбергского.

Созданием великолепного парка занимался садовый мастер П.И. Эрлер, а двухэтажный дворец в стиле позднего классицизма возвел в 1839–1842 годы архитектор А.И. Штакеншнейдер. Дворец напоминал античную виллу, окруженную террасами-галереями. Для усиления эффекта в стены дворца были встроены подлинные античные фрагменты. Парадные помещения были украшены лепкой и живописью, мебель по рисункам Штакеншнейдера создал мастер Генрих Гамбс.

От дворца открывался вид на Финский залив. Дворец окружали цветники, террасы были украшены вьющимися растениями. В парке, в русле протекавшего по оврагу ручья был устроен каскад прудов с плотинами и мостами. Как у дворца, так и в парке были установлены многочисленные скульптуры и статуи. Одна из самых примечательных скульптур – огромный, вросший в землю валун с высеченным на нем лицом неведомого богатыря. История его создания остается загадкой, о которой много лет спорят историки и искусствоведы.

После 1917 года парк был взят под охрану государства, в имении организована «Детская коммуна». В годы войны усадьба оказалась на линии фронта Ораниенбаумского плацдарма, парк и постройки сильно пострадали.

В послевоенные годы Ленинградский университет провел работы по благоустройству парка. В 1965 году по проекту архитектора В.И. Зейдемана были, в основном, восстановлены фасады дворца, а в 1969 году по проекту архитектора К.Д. Агаповой отреставрированы парковые сооружения.

Сейчас дворцово-парковый ансамбль «Сергиевка» является памятником истории и культуры федерального значения, а окружающий парк – место обитания редких видов растений и животных – особо охраняемой природной территорией, памятником природы регионального значения.

***

Сергиевка входит в экскурсионную программу городского проекта «Открытый город». Это совместный проект Санкт-Петербургского городского отделения Всероссийского общества охраны памятников истории и культуры и Комитета по государственному контролю, использованию и охране памятников истории и культуры. Реализуется при поддержке Правительства Санкт-Петербурга, благодаря чему все участники могут посещать мероприятия бесплатно.

Миссия проекта «Открытый город» — познакомить жителей и гостей Санкт-Петербурга с уникальным культурным наследием нашего города, открыть двери самых красивых особняков, дворцов, усадеб, знаковых сооружений промышленной архитектуры, которые раньше были недоступны для широкого посещения.

Посещать мероприятия «Открытого города» может любой гражданин России, записавшийся на сайте проекта. В число мероприятий входят разные виды экскурсий (пешеходные, автобусные, велосипедные), прогулки на ретротранспорте, исторические квесты, лекции по истории, архитектуре и культуре Санкт-Петербурга, мастер-классы для детей и взрослых.