Famous building

House of Nikolaevs

Address

Sadovaya st., 25

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

XVIII century (exact year unknown)

Architects

A.M. Lieven, P.N. Volkov, G.I. Lutsedarsky

Style

eclecticism, modern

The building itself was built in the 18th century; the author of the project remains unknown.

In 1842, the architect A.M. Lieven added an arcade to accommodate shops from the side of Sadovaya Street; however, a larger restructuring was ahead. In 1879-1880. designed by architect P.N. Volkov, the previously open arcade was glazed, and the facade from the side of Muchny Lane was decorated in the eclectic style.

In 1903, the building acquired a familiar look for us: the architect G.I. Lyutsedarskiy rebuilds the corner part of the building at the intersection of Sadovaya Street and Bankovskiy Lane. For finishing the basement, he chooses granite chips, and high-relief compositions made of female busts appear in the piers between the windows. It houses a representative office and a bookstore of the Moscow book publisher I.D. Sytin, as well as the Georges Bormand confectionery shop. And in 1915, a part of the building from the side of Muchny Lane received one more built-up floor and still belongs to trade rows and offices.

The author of female sculptures in the Art Nouveau style is still unknown; although this work would certainly have left his name in history. Today, the house of the Nikolaevs is known precisely for the mermaid girls (as Petersburgers called them).

Достопримечательность

Дом Николаевых

Адрес

ул. Садовая, 25

Год постройки

XVIII в. (точный год неизвестен)

Архитектор

А.М. Ливен, П.Н. Волков, Г.И. Люцедарский

Стиль

эклектика, модерн

Само здание было построено еще в XVIII веке; автор проекта остается неизвестным.

В 1842 году архитектором А.М. Ливеном была надстроена аркада для размещения лавок со стороны Садовой улицы; однако более масштабная перестройка была впереди. В 1879-1880 гг. по проекту архитектора П.Н. Волкова открытую прежде аркаду застеклили, а фасад со стороны Мучного переулка был отделан в стиле эклектики.

В 1903 г. здание приобретает привычный для нас облик: архитектор Г.И. Люцедарский перестраивает угловую часть здания на пересечении Садовой улицы и Банковского переулка. Для отделки цоколя он выбирает гранитную щепу, а в простенках между окнами появляются горельефные композиции, составленные из женских бюстов. Здесь размещаются представительство и книжный магазин московского книгоиздателя И.Д. Сытина, а также кондитерский магазин фирмы «Жорж Борман». А в 1915 г. часть здания со стороны Мучного переулка получает еще один надстроенный этаж и по-прежнему принадлежит торговым рядам и конторам.

Автор женских скульптур в стиле модерн по сей день неизвестен; хотя эта работа, непременно, оставила бы его имя в истории. Сегодня дом Николаевых известен именно девушками-русалками (так их нарекли петербуржцы).