Famous building

House of Prince Gorchakov

Address

Bolshaya Monetnaya st., 17-19

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1893-1895, 1901-1903

Architects

N.A. Arkhangelsky, A.R. Haveman

Style

Neo-Renaissance, eclecticism, old French style

Two houses on Bolshaya Monetnaya belonged to Prince Konstantin Alexandrovich Gorchakov, the youngest son of Alexander Mikhailovich Gorchakov, chancellor, diplomat, fellow of Pushkin for the famous first graduation of Tsarskoye Selo Lyceum. The buildings were built in the classical traditions of French architecture of the XVII-XVIII centuries, with high roofs covered with ploughshare, a glass dome and a monumental portico above the entrance.

The site where the houses are located in the 19th century changed several owners. In the 1880s, it belonged to college assessor F.F. Otto. There was a large orchard with outbuildings. In 1891, the plot was acquired by the wife of staff captain Sleptsov, for whom in 1893–1895 a military engineer N. A. Arkhangelsk erected a house stylized as the French Renaissance. This is house 17 on Bolshaya Monetnaya street.

In 1898, the plot was bought by Prince Konstantin Alexandrovich Gorchakov. In 1901–1903, according to the project of architect R. A. Gaveman, a three-story building in the eclectic style was built next to the existing mansion using motifs of old French architecture. This is house 19 on Bolshaya Monetnaya. In house 17, the daughter of Prince Maria Bryanchaninova settled, and in 1907-1909 R.A. Haveman reconstructed and expanded it.

The garden, which was previously located on this site, was put in order in 1913-1914 - the city gardener Wiese, in addition to the preserved fruit trees, planted many trees, bushes and flowers, arranged paths and flower beds.

In the second half of the 20th century, the Gorchakovsky garden fell into decay. In the 1950s, a bomb shelter was built here, and in 1981, according to the project of architects J.M. Verzhbitsky, L.I. Shimakovsky and A.L. Stolyarchuk between the houses of Prince Gorchakov erected a new building of the Petrograd district committee of the CPSU (today the administration of the Petrograd region here). A dozen old trees are preserved only in the western part.

May 16, 2003 in front of the new building a bronze bust of Peter I was installed on a granite pedestal, its authors - sculptor V.E. Gorevoy and architect J. M. Verzhbitsky.

Достопримечательность

Дома князя Горчакова

Адрес

Большая Монетная ул., 17-19

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1893-1895, 1901-1903

Архитектор

Н.А. Архангельский, А.Р. Гавеман

Стиль

Неоренессанс, эклектика, старофранцузский стиль

Два дома на Большой Монетной принадлежали князю Константину Александровичу Горчакову, младшему сыну Александра Михайловича Горчакова, канцлера, дипломата, собрата Пушкина по знаменитому первому выпуску Царскосельского лицея. Здания построены в классических традициях французской архитектуры XVII-XVIII веков, с высокими крышами, покрытыми лемехом, стеклянным куполом и монументальным портиком над входом.

Участок, на котором расположились дома, в XIX веке сменил нескольких владельцев. В 1880-х годах он принадлежал коллежскому асессору Ф. Ф. Отто. Здесь был большой фруктовый сад с хозяйственными постройками. В 1891 году участок приобрела жена штабс-капитана Слепцова, для которой в 1893–1895 годах военный инженер Н.А. Архангельский возвел дом, стилизованный под французский ренессанс. Это дом 17 по Большой Монетной улице.

В 1898 году участок купил князь Константин Александрович Горчаков. В 1901–1903 годах по проекту архитектора Р А. Гавемана рядом с существующим особняком был построено трехэтажное здание в стиле эклектика с использованием мотивов старой французской архитектуры. Это дом 19 по Большой Монетной. В доме 17 поселилась дочь князя Мария Брянчанинова, и в 1907-1909 годах Р.А. Гавеман его реконструировал и расширил.

Сад, который ранее находился на этом участке, был в 1913-1914 годах приведен в порядок — городской садовод Визе благоустроил дорожки, высадил новые деревья. Здесь росло около 170 деревьев и кустов, среди которых дубы, березы, липы, клены, тополя, ясени, лиственницы, каштаны, яблони, жасмин, кусты сирени, черемухи, черной калины, рябина, много цветов.

Во второй половине XX века горчаковский сад пришел в упадок. В 1950-х годах здесь построили бомбоубежище, а в 1981 году по проекту архитекторов Ж.М. Вержбицкого, Л.И. Шимаковского и А.Л. Столярчука между домами князя Горчакова возвели новое здание Петроградского райкома КПСС (сегодня здесь администрация Петроградского района). Десяток старых деревьев сохранился лишь в западной части.

16 мая 2003 года перед новым зданием установили бронзовый бюст Петра I на гранитном постаменте, его авторы — скульптор В.Э. Горевой и архитектор Ж. М. Вержбицкий.