Famous building

House of Insurance Company "Russia"

Address

Mokhovaya st., 27-29

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1897-1899

Architects

L.N. Benoit

Style

Neo-Renaissance, Eclecticism

The house on Mokhovaya with the courtyard was built in 1897-1899 by the project of architects L.N. Benoit and N.D. Prokofiev for the insurance company "Russia". In the 1740s, a part of the Beast Court, the royal menagerie, was located at this place. Later, the courtyard was transferred to the Ligovsky Canal, and the plots were handed out for private development.

In 1882, the territory passed to the heirs of the owners of the famous Porcelain Factory Kornilov brothers, for whom, according to the project of A.F. Krasovsky and V.R. Korzunov was erected the right building.

In 1897, the land was bought by the Rossiya insurance company. The famous architect Leonty Benoit built the central and left buildings, and the building took on its present appearance. Artist N.D.Prokofiev also took part in the interior decoration and the creation of the courtyard grille. In the courtyard, opposite the elegant gate, a meteorological device with a clock, a thermometer and a barometer was installed.

The modern landmark of the courtyard is a monument to the heroes of the movie "Dog Heart". The fact is that it was here that the house of Professor Preobrazhensky was rented in the film of V.V. Bortko according to the famous story of Bulgakov. The monument was erected in 2018, to the 30th anniversary of the premiere of the film. The author of the sculptural group is Igor Senin, a student at the St. Petersburg Institute of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture named after Repin.

Достопримечательность

Дом страхового общества «Россия»

Адрес

Моховая ул., 27-29

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1897-1899

Архитектор

Л.Н. Бенуа

Стиль

Неоренессанс, эклектика

Дом на Моховой с открытым двором-курдонером был построен в 1897-1899 годах по проекту архитекторов Л.Н. Бенуа и Н.Д Прокофьева для страхового общества «Россия». В 1740-х годах на этом месте располагалась часть Зверового Двора — царского зверинца. Позже Двор перевели к Лиговскому каналу, а участки раздали под частную застройку.

В 1882 году территория перешла к наследникам владельцев знаменитого Фарфорового завода братьев Корниловых, для которых по проекту А.Ф. Красовского и В.Р. Корзунова был возведен правый корпус здания.

В 1897 году участок купило страховое общество «Россия». Известный архитектор Леонтий Бенуа построил центральный и левый корпуса, и здание обрело свой сегодняшний вид. Во внутренней отделке и создании решетки двора также принимал участие художник Н.Д. Прокофьев. Во дворе, напротив изящных ворот, установили метеорологический прибор с часами, термометром и барометром.

Современная достопримечательность двора – памятник героям фильма «Собачье сердце». Дело в том, что именно здесь снимали дом профессора Преображенского в кинокартине В.В. Бортко по знаменитой повести Булгакова. Памятник поставили в 2018 году, к 30-летию премьеры фильма. Автор скульптурной группы — студент Санкт-Петербургского института живописи, скульптуры и архитектуры имени Репина Игорь Сенин.

Памятник профессору Преображенскому, который сидит на скамейке и гладит пса Шарика, находится возле стены дома №27 и хорошо виден с Моховой улицы через решетку. Если вы хотите рассмотреть его поближе, нужно пройти через соседнюю арку, свернуть налево и пройти через двор.