Famous building

House of Raskolnikov

Address

Grazhdanskaya Str., 19 / Stolyarny per., 5

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1831

Architects

E.T. Zollikofer

Profitable house of I. Jokhima is located on the corner of Grazhdanskaya Street and Stolyarny Pereulok. According to the researchers of art F.M. Dostoevsky, the main character of the novel "Crime and Punishment" Rodion Raskolnikov lived here. The house was built in 1831 by the design of Egor Zollikopher in the style of simplistic classicism.

The house is four-story (in the past - five-story). The passage to the yard is closed by bars. On the wall, there are two marble plaques marking the height of the water during the flood of 1824 (it means that before the construction of the modern building), with the following words: on one - "The height of water 7 November 1824"; on another similar text in German.

On the fourth floor, there was an apartment in which Raskolnikov rented a room. As in the novel, there are 13 steps leading to the attic of the house.

In the corner part of the house, there is a high relief "Raskolnikov's House", which was opened on July 7, 1999. The authors of the monument are the sculptor E. N. Rotanov and the architect V.I. Novosadyuk. On the granite slab is the text: "Raskolnikov's House. The tragic fate of the people of this area of St. Petersburg served Dostoevsky as the basis for his passionate preaching of good for all mankind." The authors of the text are academician Dmitry Likhachev and writer Daniil Granin.

Достопримечательность

«Дом Раскольникова»

Адрес

Гражданская ул., 19/ Столярный пер., 5

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1831 год

Архитектор

Е.Т. Цолликофер

Доходный дом И. Иохима расположен на углу Гражданской улицы и Столярного переулка. По мнению исследователей творчества Ф.М.  Достоевского, именно здесь жил главный герой романа «Преступление и наказание» Родион Раскольников. Дом возведён в 1831 году по проекту Егора Цолликофера в стиле упрощенного классицизма.

Дом — четырёхэтажный (в прошлом — пятиэтажный). Проезд во двор закрыт решётками. На стене установлены две мраморные доски, отмечающие высоту воды во время наводнения 1824 года (то есть ещё до постройки современного здания), со следующими словами: на одной — «Вышина воды 7: Ноября 1824»; на другой аналогичный текст на немецком языке.

На четвёртом этаже располагалась квартира, в которой снимал комнату Раскольников. Как и в романе, на чердак дома ведут 13 ступенек.

В угловой части дома установлен горельеф «Дом Раскольникова», открытый 7 июля 1999 года. Авторы памятника — скульптор Е. Н. Ротанов и архитектор В. И. Новосадюк. На гранитной плите выбит текст: «Дом Раскольникова. Трагические судьбы людей этой местности Петербурга послужили Достоевскому основой его страстной проповеди добра для всего человечества». Авторы текста — академик Дмитрий Лихачев и писатель Даниил Гранин.