Famous building

Officers' House

Address

Liteiny pr., 20 / Kirochnaya Str., 1

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1895-1898 years

Architects

А.I. von Gauguin, M.A. Ivanov, V.K. Gauger, A.D. Donchenko

Style

Neo-Russian

Until 1828 at the corner of Kirochnaya and Liteiny Street there was a reception room of Count A.A. Arakcheeva. The existing building was erected specially for the Officers' Meeting, established by decree of Nicholas II in the spring of 1898 "with the aim of improving the living conditions of officers, both employees in the capital and those who stay there temporarily."

The building was built in the traditional "Russian" style. The facades of the Officers' Assembly are decorated with figured bricks and cast reliefs. Up to now, the original appearance of some rooms on the third floor, Pink and Oak rooms, near the concert hall, has been preserved. The pink room was meant for resting ladies who had come to the concert or ball. The Great Hall retained the original wall decoration, executed in the style of Louis XVI.

After the opening of the Officers' Assembly, concerts, balls, friendly meetings, and lectures were held here. There were also apartments for officers who arrived in the capital on official business.

After the revolution of 1917, the building housed the Leningrad House of the Red Army, later the District House of Officers of the Leningrad Military District. In the second half of the XX century, the House of Officers was famous for its dancing evenings. There queues were going up to several kilometers, and to accommodate all comers, it was necessary to organize sites on several floors.

Now the House of Officers of the Western Military District is a leisure center, where concerts, performances, festivals are held.

Знаменитое здание

Дом офицеров

Адрес

Литейный пр., 20 / Кирочная ул., 1

Год постройки

1895—1898 годы

Архитектор

А.И. фон Гоген, М.А. Иванов, В.К. Гаугер, А.Д. Донченко

Стиль

псевдрусский

Знаменитые здания /

До 1828 года на углу Кирочной и Литейной улиц находилась приёмная графа А.А. Аракчеева. Существующее здание возведено специально для Офицерского собрания, учреждённого указом Николая II весной 1898 года «с целью улучшения условий жизни офицеров, как служащих в столице, так и временно в ней пребывающих».

Здание было возведено в традиционном «русском» стиле. Фасады Офицерского собрания  украшены фигурным кирпичом и литыми рельефами. До наших дней сохранился первоначальный облик некоторых помещений на третьем этаже – Розовой и Дубовой комнат, около концертного зала.  Розовая комната предназначалась для отдыха дам, прибывших концерт или бал. Большой зал сохранил первоначальную отделку стен, выполненную в стиле Людовика XVI.

После открытия Офицерского собрания здесь проводились концерты, балы, дружеские встречи и лекции. Тут же располагались апартаменты для офицеров, прибывших в столицу по служебным делам.

После революции 1917 года в здании расположился Ленинградский дом Красной армии, позднее «Окружной дом офицеров Ленинградского военного округа». Во второй половине XX века Дом офицеров славился своими танцевальными вечерами. Здесь собирались километровые очереди, и чтобы уместить всех желающих, приходилось организовывать площадки на нескольких этажах.

Сейчас Дом офицеров Западного военного округа – это центр досуга, где проходят концерты, спектакли, фестивали.