Famous building

"House-monastery"

Address

Chkalovsky Ave, 31

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1910–1913

Architects

A.L. Lishnevsky

Style

neo-Russian

There is a residential building that evokes in memory the harsh and poetic images of the northern Russian monasteries on Chkalovsky Prospekt. This is one of the most striking works of the architect A.L. Lishnevsky. The apartment house occupies a whole block, has three addresses at once and represents two neighboring buildings that have joined each other with firewalls.

An engineer-technologist Boris Kuperman was the site owner. He invited architect Alexander Lishnevsky, who bought the house in the process of construction and was its owner until 1918. In his work, Lishnevsky usually preferred a decor with motifs of Western European architecture, but here he turned to the Russian style.

Opposite the construction site towered a temple in the Pskov-Novgorod style - the Church of Alexis, the Man of God, erected in 1906-1911 by architect G.D. Grimm. (in the 1930s it was rebuilt into a factory building). The architectural appearance of the church inspired Lishnevsky to build a house in the Neo-Russian style, giving the building an image of an ancient monastery.

The facade was decorated with two towers with high spiers (now lost) from the side of Chkalovsky Prospekt, which entered into a roll call with crosses located opposite the temple. It was assumed that the silhouettes of the house and the temple would mirror each other.

Among the first inhabitants of the monastery house was the architect Lishnevsky himself. And from 1915 to 1942 an outstanding popularizer of exact and natural sciences, the author of "Entertaining Physics", Yakov Isperovich Perelman lived there, as evidenced by a memorial plaque on the facade.

Знаменитое здание

«Дом-монастырь» (дом Лишневского)

Адрес

Чкаловский пр., 31/Вс. Вишневского ул., 10/ Плуталова ул., 2

Год постройки

1910–1913 годы

Архитектор

А.Л. Лишневский

Стиль

неорусский

Знаменитые здания /

На Чкаловском проспекте выделяется жилой дом, вызывающий в памяти суровые и поэтичные образы северных русских монастырей. Это одно из самых ярких произведений архитектора А. Л. Лишневского. Доходный дом занимает целый квартал,  имеет сразу три адреса и представляет собой два соседних здания, примкнувшие друг к другу брандмауэрными стенами.

Владельцем участка был инженер-технолог Борис Куперман. Он пригласил архитектора Александра Лишневского, который выкупил дом в процессе строительства и был его владельцем до 1918 года. В своем творчестве Лишневский обычно предпочитал декор с мотивами западноевропейской архитектуры, но здесь он обратился к русскому стилю.

Напротив стройплощадки возвышался храм в псковско-новгородском стиле – церковь Алексия, Человека Божия,  возведенная в 1906–1911 годах по проекту архитектора Г.Д. Гримма. (в 1930-е годы перестроена в заводской корпус). Архитектурный облик церкви вдохновил Лишневского на строительство дома в неорусском стиле, придав постройке образ древнего монастыря.

Фасад со стороны Чкаловского проспекта был украшен двумя башнями с высокими шпилями (к настоящему времени утраченными), которые вступали в перекличку с крестами расположенного напротив храма. Предполагалось, что силуэты дома и храма будут зеркально отражать друг друга.

Среди первых жителей дома-монастыря был сам архитектор Лишневский. А с 1915 по 1942 год здесь  жил выдающийся популяризатор точных и естественных наук, автор «Занимательной физики»,  Яков Исидорович Перельман, о чем свидетельствует мемориальная доска на фасаде.