Famous building

Leontief-Schubert House

Address

1st line of V.O., 12

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1720s , 1807-1809

Architects

The architect is not installed

Style

classicism

The building is interesting as a monument of ordinary urban buildings of the XVIII-XIX centuries. Originally it was built in the first quarter of the XVIII century. It was a three-story stone structure with a triangular pediment. The house belonged to the General-Anshef M.I. Leontyev, his sons, and grandchildren.

In 1775 the building was sold to the "master of the baking of French bread" Johann Khristoforovich Shaf. At the beginning of the XIX century, the house belonged to the collegiate secretary A. Kuznetsov, at that time the facade of the house was rebuilt in the style of classicism. It was then that a triangular pediment appeared, above the windows of the second floor appeared bas-reliefs on antique subjects. The appearance of the house, which was formed at that time, the details of the interiors, the main staircase were preserved to this day.

Since the 1830s, the building was owned by the chief of the Military Topographic Depot, Major-General Fyodor Fyodorovich Schubert. Under his leadership in 1828, a topographic plan was created for St.Petersburg, which has great scientific and historical value. Schubert often gathered musicians, artists and scientists in his house.

In different years in the house of Schubert his granddaughters, Sofya and Anna Korvin-Krukovskie stayed. One of them later became famous as the first female mathematician Sofia Kovalevskaya, and the second - as a friend of F.M. Dostoevsky, later - an activist of the Paris Commune, Anna Zhaklar.

Достопримечательность

Дом Леонтьевых-Шуберта

Адрес

1-я линия В.О., 12

Год постройки

1720-е годы, 1807-1809 годы

Архитектор

Архитектор не установлен

Здание интересно как памятник рядовой городской застройки XVIII-XIX веков. Изначально он  был построен в первой четверти XVIII века. Это было трёхэтажное каменное сооружение с треугольным фронтоном.  Дом принадлежал генерал-аншефу М.И. Леонтьеву, его сыновьям и внукам.

В 1775 году здание продали  «мастеру печения французских хлебов» Иоганну Христофоровичу Шафу. В начале XIX века дом принадлежал коллежскому секретарю А. Кузнецову, при котором фасад дома перестроили в стиле классицизм. Тогда-то и появился треугольный фронтон, над окнами второго этажа появились барельефы на античные сюжеты. Облик дома, сложившийся в тот период, детали интерьеров, парадная лестница сохранились до нашего времени.

С 1830-х годов зданием владел начальник Военно-топографического депо генерал-майор Фёдор Фёдорович Шуберт.  Под его руководством в 1828 году был создан топографический план Петербурга, имеющий большую научную и историческую ценность. У Шуберта часто собирались музыканты, художники, ученые.

В разные годы в доме Шуберта гостили его внучки  Софья и Анна Корвин-Круковские. Одна из них потом прославилась как первая женщина-математик София Ковалевская, а вторая — как друг Ф.М. Достоевского, позднее — деятельница Парижской Коммуны Анна Жаклар.