Famous building

The House of Leningrad Trade (DLT)

Address

Bolshaya Konushennaya Str. 21-23 / Volynsky per., 3

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

10:00 – 22:00

Years of foundation

1907–1913

Architects

E.F. Wirrich

Style

modern

The site on which the building was built in the XVIII century belonged to A.P. Volynsky, a major statesman of the Petrine era. Here a stone two-story cab-house stood, which in common parlance was called "Volynsky". The neighboring Volyn lane is named according to it.

In 1907, a site along the Bolshaya Konyushennaya, Volynsky lane and the embankment of the Moika River was bought by the Guards Economic Society. For the construction of the trading house, an international competition was organized, in which 25 projects participated. As a result, the project of E.F. Verrich was chosen.

For the first time in Russia, a monolithic reinforced concrete frame was used here on a large scale. Two spacious trading halls are solved in the form of atriums, girded with multi-tiered galleries and covered with a glass ceiling.

The grand opening of the trading house of the Guards Economic Society was held on December 7, 1909, and in 1913 the second stage (Small Hall) was opened. It was the largest department store in St. Petersburg and one of the first in Russia. The department store began to be called the "Guards housekeeper" since the officers of the Guards regiments enjoyed discounts here.

After the revolution, the building housed the First State Department Store, which in 1927 was transformed into the "House of Leningrad Cooperation." Since 1935, the current name - "The House of Leningrad Trade" (DLT) has been assigned to him.

The last time reconstruction of the trading house DLT was carried out in 2005-2012.

Достопримечательность

Дом ленинградской торговли (ДЛТ)

Адрес

Большая Конюшенная ул., 21-23/ Волынский пер., 3

Ежедневно

10:00 – 22:00

Год постройки

1907–1913 годы

Архитектор

Э.Ф. Виррих

Стиль

модерн

Участок, на котором было построено здание, в XVIII веке принадлежал А.П. Волынскому, крупному государственному деятелю петровской эпохи. Здесь стоял каменный двухэтажный извозчичий дом, который в просторечии называли «Волынским». По нему назван и соседний Волынский переулок.

В 1907 году участок по Большой Конюшенной, Волынскому переулку и набережной реки Мойки купило Гвардейское экономическое общество. Для строительства торгового дома был организован международный конкурс, в котором участвовало 25 проектов. В итоге был выбран проект Э.Ф. Вирриха.

Впервые в России здесь в широких масштабах был применен монолитный железобетонный каркас. Два просторных торговых зала решены в виде атриумов, опоясанных многоярусными галереями и перекрытых стеклянным потолком.

Торжественное открытие торгового дома Гвардейского экономического общества  состоялось 7 декабря 1909 года, а в 1913 году открылась вторая очередь (Малый зал). Это был крупнейший универсальный магазин Петербурга и один из первых в России. Универмаг стали называть «Гвардейской экономкой», поскольку офицеры гвардейских полков пользовались здесь скидками.

После революции в здании разместился Первый государственный универсальный магазин, который в 1927 году был преобразован в «Дом ленинградской кооперации». С 1935 года за ним закрепилось нынешнее название — «Дом ленинградской торговли» (ДЛТ).

Последняя по времени реконструкция торгового дома ДЛТ производилась в 2005–2012 годах.