Famous building

House of Kotomin

Address

Nevsky prospect, 18

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1741, 1812-1815

Architects

M.G. Zemtsov (1741), V.P. Stasov (1812-1815)

Style

classicism

The history of the building dates back to the first years of the city's existence. In 1705 a wooden house was built on this site, which belonged to one of the companions of Peter I, Admiral Kruis.

In 1741, according to the project of M.G. Zemtsov a stone house in the early Baroque style was built. In 1807, it was purchased by the merchant K.B. Kotomin, former serf of the Prince I.B. Kurakin. By his order, Vasily Petrovich Stasov built a huge four-story house at that time, occupying the whole block between Bolshaya Morskaya Street and Moika Embankment. Then the building acquired a strict classical look, which was largely preserved.

In the 1810s, Peter Yeliseevich Yeliseyev, the founder of the famous merchant dynasty, opened his first shop in the house of Kotomin.

In the first half of the XIX century, there was a confectionery of S. Wolf and T. Beranger. On January 27, 1837, in the institution of Wolf and Berenger A.S. Pushkin, met his second Danzas, from here they went to the place of the duel.

Other fateful events and legends are associated with the confectionery. So, it was at Wolf and Berange in 1846 that Dostoevsky got acquainted with M.V. Petrashevsky, who led the writer to hard labor punishment. And in 1877, the former confectionery premises were occupied by the restaurant Leiner. According to legend, in this restaurant on October 20, 1893, the composer P.I. Tchaikovsky drank a glass of raw water, and five days later he died of cholera.

In 1962-1984 in the house of Kotomin, the largest antiquarian bookshop in Leningrad worked. And after the reconstruction in 1985, a literary cafe was opened on the site of the confectionery of Wolf and Beranger.

Достопримечательность

Дом Котомина

citywalls.ru
Адрес
Невский пр., 18
Год постройки
1741 год, 1812–1815 годы
Архитектор
М.Г. Земцов (1741), В.П. Стасов (1812–1815)
Стиль
классицизм

История здания восходит к первым годам существования города.
 В 1705 году на этом участке был сооружен деревянный дом, принадлежавший одному из сподвижников Петра I — адмиралу Крюйсу.

В 1741 году по проекту М.Г. Земцова здесь был построен каменный  дом в стиле раннего барокко. В 1807 году его приобрел купец К. Б. Котомин, бывший крепостной князя И. Б. Куракина. По его заказу Василий Петрович Стасов построил огромный по тем временам четырехэтажный дом, занимавший целый квартал между Большой Морской улицей и набережной Мойки. Тогда здание и приобрело строгий классический облик, который во многом сохранился.

В 1810-х годах в доме Котомина отрыл свою первую лавку Пётр Елисеевич Елисеев, родоначальник знаменитой купеческой династии.

В первой половине XIX века здесь располагалась кондитерская С. Вольфа и Т. Беранже. 27 января 1837 года в заведении Вольфа и Беранже А.С. Пушкин встретился со своим секундантом Данзасом, отсюда они направились к месту дуэли.

С кондитерской связаны и другие роковые события и легенды. Так, именно у Вольфа и Беранже в 1846 году произошло знакомство Достоевского с М. В. Петрашевским, которое привело писателя на каторгу. А в 1877 году бывшие помещения кондитерской занял ресторан Лейнера. По легенде, в этом ресторане 20 октября 1893 года композитор П.И. Чайковский выпил стакан сырой воды, а через пять дней умер от холеры.

В 1962–1984 годах в доме Котомина работал крупнейший антикварно-букинистический магазин Ленинграда. А после реконструкции в 1985 году на месте кондитерской Вольфа и Беранже открылось Литературное кафе.

Культурная столица приглашает в гости!
Многодневные туры и речные круизы в Санкт-Петербург
Заказать