Famous building

Apartment building of the insurance company "Russia"

Address

Bolshaya Morskaya st., 35

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1905-1907

Architects

A.A. Gimpel, V.V. Ilyashev

Style

Modern

In the 1740s, this place was a one-story mansion of the court tailor Caspar Grill. The house changed hands many times until in 1905 this site was transferred to the Rossiya insurance company, which already owned two neighboring houses - 37 and 39 along Bolshaya Morskaya Street. According to the project of engineer Aleksandr Gimpel and architect Vasily Ilyashev, a new six-story building of an art nouveau apartment building was built here.

The insurance company itself occupied the second and third floors, on the ground floor there were shops, in particular, “The Royals and Piano of J. Becker”. The upper floors were intended for residential apartments.

The facade of the building was decorated with a majolica frieze made by the ceramist Peter Kuzmich Vaulin based on drawings by Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich on the theme of the Russian North. The upper mosaic frieze was lost during the blockade, and today you can see only three small inserts above the windows of the second floor. The facade was also decorated with other Roerich majolics dedicated to Old Russian military campaigns. Downed in the 1960s, they were recreated at the beginning of the XXI century.

In the interiors of the house, stained glass windows and a large number of ceramic stoves, various in pattern and color, were preserved. The lobby and the main staircase of the house are decorated with reliefs depicting the nature and animals of the North.

Today it is an administrative building, in which, including the Museum and Exhibition Center "Rosfoto" and the museum of Russian politician and statesman Galina Vasilievna Starovoitova.

Достопримечательность

Доходный дом страхового общества «Россия»

Адрес

Большая Морская ул., 35

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1905-1907

Архитектор

А.А. Гимпель, В.В. Ильяшев

Стиль

Модерн

В 1740-х годах на этом месте стоял одноэтажный особняк придворного портного Каспара Гриля. Дом многократно переходил из рук в руки, пока в 1905 году этот участок не перешел к страховому обществу «Россия», которое владело уже двумя соседними домами — 37 и 39 по Большой Морской улице. По проекту инженера Алоександра Гимпеля и архитектора Василия Ильяшева здесь был возведено новое шестиэтажное здание доходного дома в стиле модерн.

Само страховое общество занимало второй и третий этажи, на первом этаже располагались магазины, в частности  «Рояли и пианино Я. Беккера». Верхние этажи предназначались под жилые квартиры.

Фасад здания украсил майоликовый фриз выполненный керамистом Петром Кузьмичом Ваулиным по рисункам Николая Константиновича Рериха на тему русского Севера. Верхний мозаичный фриз был утрачен во время блокады, и сегодня подлинными являются  лишь три небольшие треугольные вставки над окнами второго этажа. Фасад украшали и другие рериховские майолики, посвящённые древнерусским военным походам. Сбитые в 1960-е годы, они были воссозданы в начале XXI века.

В интерьерах дома сохранились витражи и большое количество керамических печей, разнообразных по рисунку и цвету. Вестибюль и парадную лестницу дома украшают рельефы, изображающие природу и животных Севера.

Сегодня это административное здание, в котором, в том числе располагается Музейно-выставочный центр «Росфото» и музей российского политика и государственного деятеля Галины Васильевны Старовойтовой.