Famous building

Profitable house of I.B. Lidval

Address

Kamennoostrovsky Ave, 1-3

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1899–1904

Architects

F.I. Lidval

Style

modern

An apartment house in the Art Nouveau style was built at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries, designed by the architect Fyodor Lidval, commissioned by his mother, Ida-Amalia Lidval. The complex of buildings became a laureate of the contest "The Best Facade of St. Petersburg" in 1907.

Profitable house of I.B. Lidval is a complex of buildings in the form of an irregular U-shaped polygon. Four asymmetrical buildings form a large open courtyard with a lawn and flower beds (Kurdouner) from Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt. The decoration uses colored plaster, hewn stone, ceramic tiles, artistic casting and sculptural reliefs with scenes from birds, animals, and plants. The stylistics of modernity is also spoken by widely spaced straight and polygonal window openings, arches, platbands, bay windows, and balconies.

The internal living quarters of a profitable house are also devoid of monotony. In the left wing were the family apartments of Lidvaley with the workshop of F.I. Lidval himself, majolica stoves, faience washbasins, and marble fireplaces, and the ceilings were installed here and the walls were decorated with oak and birch. In one of the buildings technical rooms were arranged - a reception room, rooms for wipers, porters, electric lighting, water heating, laundry, and ironing

In the house of Lidval many famous personalities rented apartments - bankers, industrialists, entrepreneurs, senior military and civilian ranks. And after the revolution of 1917, representatives of the creative intelligentsia-actors and artists-lived here.

Today this building remains an elite residential building. Wealthy Petersburgers live here, there are offices of famous legal and insurance companies.

Достопримечательность

Доходный дом И.Б. Лидваль

Адрес

Каменноостровский пр., 1–3

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1899–1904 годы

Архитектор

Ф.И. Лидваль

Стиль

модерн

Доходный дом в стиле модерн был построен на рубеже XIX–XX веков по проекту архитектора Федора Лидваля по заказу его матери, Иды-Амалии Лидваль. Комплекс зданий стал лауреатом конкурса «Лучший фасад Санкт-Петербурга» в 1907 году.

Доходный дом И. Б. Лидваль — это комплекс зданий в виде неправильного П-образного многоугольника. Четыре асимметричных корпуса образуют со стороны Каменноостровского проспекта большой открытый двор с газоном и цветниками (курдонер). В отделке использованы цветная штукатурка, тесаный камень, керамическая плитка, художественное литье и скульптурные рельефы с сюжетами из птиц, зверей и растений.  О стилистике модерна  говорят и широко расставленные прямые и многоугольные оконные проемы, арки, наличники, эркеры и балконы.

Внутренние жилые помещения доходного дома также лишены однообразия. В левом крыле располагались семейные апартаменты Лидвалей с мастерской самого Ф. И. Лидваля — здесь были установлены майоликовые печи, фаянсовые умывальники и мраморные камины, а потолки и стены были отделаны дубом и березой. В одном из корпусов были устроены технические помещения — приемная комната, комнаты для дворников, швейцаров, машины электрического освещения, водяного отопления, прачечные и гладильные

В доме Лидваль снимали квартиры многие известные личности — банкиры, промышленники, предприниматели, высшие военные и штатские чины. А после революции 1917 года здесь жили представители творческой интеллигенции — актеры и художники.

Сегодня это здание остается элитным жилым домом. Здесь живут состоятельные петербуржцы, располагаются офисы известных юридических и страховых компаний.