Famous building

Profitable house of the Duke of Leuchtenberg

Address

Bolshaya Zelenina Str. 28

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1904–1905

Architects

F.F. von Postels

Style

modern

The owner of the house was Duke Nikolai Nikolaevich Leichtenbergsky. He came from the French noble family of Beauharnais, who was related to Napoleon Bonaparte along the lines of his wife Josephine Beauharnais. Born in Geneva in 1891, Nikolai Leikhtenbergsky came to St. Petersburg, served in the Preobrazhensky regiment, participated in the First World War and was awarded for bravery by the checker bequeathed by General Skobelev for the delivery to "the first regimental hero." In 1918 he emigrated to France.

In St. Petersburg, the duke owned several lucrative houses, he himself lived in a mansion that stood on Kamennoostrovsky Avenue, 64.

The house on Bolshaya Zelenina street is the first large building of the architect Fyodor (Friedrich August) von Postels. The dominant feature of the main facade was a huge mosaic frieze on the fifth floor. Mosaic panels were created in 1905 according to the sketches of the artist S.T. Shelkovyi. For the first time on the building was depicted a complete finished view: fields, hills, river, city buildings and even an industrial landscape with tall smoking pipes. Motives smoothly flow one into the other, creating a panorama.

The relief decor of the house is strikingly intricate. Three residential floors are "cut" by high windows, united by pilasters and two round bay windows. At the level of the second floor, there is a belt of whimsically intertwining bands and zigzag figures.

The Duke of Leuchtenberg was a great lover of the arts, and the architect envisaged premises for art studios in the apartment house. Four convex glazed balconies on the top floor remind us of them. Here was, in particular, the studio of the artist Ivan Parkhomenko, the creator of the unique portrait gallery of writers of Russia. Leonid Andreev, Ivan Bunin, Alexander Kuprin and other well-known Russian writers were coming to his studio. Here, posing for the artist, read his poems, Alexander Blok.

Достопримечательность

Доходный дом герцога Лейхтенбергского

Адрес

Большая Зеленина ул., 28

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1904–1905 годы

Архитектор

Ф.Ф. фон Постельс

Стиль

модерн

Владелец дома — герцог Николай Николаевич Лейхтенбергский. Он происходил из французского дворянского рода Богарне, состоявшего в родстве с Наполеоном Бонапартом по линии его жены Жозефины Богарне. Родившись в Женеве, в 1891 году Николай Лейхтенбергский приехал в Петербург, служил в Преображенском полку, участвовал в Первой мировой войне и был награжден за храбрость шашкой, завещанной генералом Скобелевым для вручения «первейшему полковому герою». В 1918 году эмигрировал во Францию.

В Петербурге герцогу принадлежало несколько доходных домов, сам же он жил в особняке, который стоял на Каменноостровском проспекте, 64.

Дом  на Большой Зелениной улице — первая крупная постройка архитектора Федора (Фридриха Августа) фон Постельса.  Доминантой главного фасада стал огромный мозаичный фриз на пятом этаже. Мозаичные панно были созданы в 1905 году по эскизам художника С.Т. Шелкового. Впервые на здании был изображен целый законченный вид:  поля, холмы, река, городские здания и даже индустриальный пейзаж с высокими дымящимися трубами. Мотивы плавно перетекают один в другой, создавая панораму. 

Рельефный декор дома поражает затейливым своеобразием. Три жилых этажа «прорезаны» высокими окнами, объединены пилястрами и двумя округлыми эркерами. На уровне второго этажа проходит пояс из причудливо сплетающихся полос и зигзагообразных фигур.

Герцог Лейхтенбергский был большим любителем искусств, и архитектор предусмотрел в доходном доме помещения под художественные мастерские. О них напоминают четыре выпуклых застекленных балкона на верхнем этаже.  Здесь находилась, в частности, мастерская художника Ивана Пархоменко, создателя уникальной портретной галереи писателей России. К нему в мастерскую приходили Леонид Андреев, Иван Бунин, Александр Куприн и другие известные русские писатели. Здесь, позируя художнику,  читал свои стихи Александр Блок.