Famous building

Lensovet's Palace of Culture

Address

Kamennoostrovsky Ave, 42

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1931–1938

Architects

E.A. Levinson and V.O. Muntz

Style

constructivism

Famous buildings /

In 1910, on this plot of land under the project of architects A.E. Belogruda and S.G. Ginger "Sporting Palace" was built, which housed the largest cinematography in the city, a restaurant and a hall for roller-skating - "skating ring."

The existing building was erected in 1931-1938 according to the project of E.A. Levinson and V.O. Muntsa (architect Levinson also owns the project of the first residential building of the Leningrad City Council on Karpovka, 13). The new House of Culture under the project was to include two theaters, gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a library. All these rooms architects intended to place under one roof, but this plan was not implemented to the end. So, the planned 46-meter tower, which was to become the dominant of this area, is built only 30 meters high.

As a result, the House of Culture, one of the largest in the city, included: a theater hall for 2,200 spectators, a cinema, two lecture halls, exhibition and dance halls, a library, club rooms. Above the entrances there was a strip of bas-relief, symbolizing theatrical art, music, and work.

The original name was the House of Culture of industrial cooperation (colloquially called "Promka"). The modern name in honor of the Leningrad Soviet of Working People's Deputies and the status of the Palace of Culture were awarded in 1960.

Currently, part of the building is occupied by various shops and offices, and some still occupied by clubs of interests. The building hosts concerts, theater performances, lectures.

Достопримечательность

ДК Ленсовета

Адрес

Каменноостровский пр., 42

Год постройки

1931–1938 годы

Архитектор

Е.А. Левинсон и В.О. Мунц

Стиль

конструктивизм

В 1910 году на этом участке земли по проекту архитекторов А.Е. Белогруда и С.Г. Гингера был построен «Спортинг-палас», где размещались крупнейший в городе синематограф,  ресторан и зал для катания на роликовых коньках — «скэтинг-ринг».

Существующее здание было возведено в 1931–1938 годах по проекту Е. А. Левинсона и В.О. Мунца (архитектору Левинсону  принадлежит также и проект первого жилого дома  Ленсовета на Карповке, 13). Новый Дом культуры по проекту должен был включать два театра, физкультурные залы, бассейн и библиотеку. Все эти помещения архитекторы предполагали поместить под одну крышу, однако этот план был реализован не до конца. Так, запланированная 46-метровая башня, которая должна была стать доминантой этого района, построена высотой только 30 метров.

В итоге в состав Дома культуры, одного из самых крупных в городе, вошли: театральный зал на 2200 зрителей, кинотеатр, два лекционных зала, выставочные и танцевальные залы, библиотека, клубные помещения. Над входами расположили полосу барельефа, символизирующего театральное искусство, музыку и труд.

Первоначальное название  было — Дом культуры промкооперации (разговорное название — «Промка»). Современное название в честь Ленинградского Совета депутатов трудящихся и статус Дворца культуры были присвоены в 1960 году.

В настоящее время часть здания занимают различные магазины и офисы, а часть по-прежнему занята кружками и клубами. В здании проходят концерты, театральные представления, лекции.