Church

Chapel in memory of the Church of the Savior on the Waters

Address

English emb., 76

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1910-1911 (church), 1998-2003 (chapel)

Architect

M.M. Peretyatkovich (church), D.A. Butyrin (chapel)

Style

Pseudorussian

On May 28, 1910, on the English Embankment near the Novoadmiralteisky Canal, the Church of the Savior on the Waters was laid in memory of the Russian sailors who died in the Russo-Japanese War of 1904-1905. The place for the temple was chosen not far from the shipyards of the Novo-Admiralteyskiy plant, where the ships of the Russian fleet were born.

The laying ceremony of the church took place on the anniversary of the Tsushima battle. It was conducted by the Bishop of Vologda Nikon (Rozhdestvensky) with a procession from the St. Nicholas Naval Cathedral. In the foundation stone, the Grand Duchess Olga Konstantinovna laid the soldier's St.George cross.

The temple was built according to the project of the architect Marian Peretyatkovich, who took the ancient Orthodox churches of the 12th century as a model. Outwardly, it partly resembled the Church of the Intercession on the Nerl. Lined with white stone, the temple looked very beautiful from the Neva, closing the perspective of the embankment.

The temple consisted of the lower temple in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker and the upper one in the name of the Gethsemane struggle of Christ the Savior. Inside, on bronze plaques, the names of sailors who died during the war were engraved - all twelve thousand names, from Admiral Makarov to the last sailor. Above each board was inscribed the name of the ship and the battle with its participation. In the upper church, on the altar wall, there was a mosaic "The Savior Walking on the Waters", executed according to a sketch by Nikolai Bruni. Two mosaic icons on the pillars were made according to sketches by artists Viktor Vasnetsov and Nikolai Bruni. The people called the temple “Savior on the Waters”.

The solemn consecration of the temple took place (July 31) on August 13, 1911 in the presence of Nicholas II and members of the imperial family.

On March 8, 1932, the temple was closed and soon blown up despite thousands of collected signatures. Parish and some of the parishioners were repressed.

In 1990, the Committee for the Restoration of the Church of the Savior-on-Water was created. But due to the fact that the production building of the Admiralty Shipyards stands on part of the foundation of the church today, it was decided at the first stage to build a chapel, which in the future will have to be organically combined with the revived church. The project for the restoration of the church and the construction of the chapel was developed by the architect D. A. Butyrin.

The chapel was founded on May 27, 1998. Four years later, a cross was solemnly raised on it, which repeats the outlines of the cross that crowned the Savior on the Waters at the beginning of the 20th century: stylized steering wheel and anchors were used in the silhouette. On May 24, 2003, the solemn consecration of the chapel in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker took place.

Currently, memorial services for the dead sailors are regularly performed in the chapel.

Храм

Часовня в память храма «Спас-на-Водах»

Адрес

Английская наб., 76

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1910-1911 гг (храм), 1998-2003 гг (часовня)

Архитектор

М.М. Перетяткович (храм), Д.А. Бутырин (часовня)

Стиль

псевдорусский

(15) 28 мая 1910 года на Английской набережной у Новоадмиралтейского канала был заложен храм «Спас-на-Водах» в память русских моряков, погибших на Русско-японской войне 1904–1905 гг. Место для храма было выбрано недалеко от верфей Ново-Адмиралтейского завода, где рождались корабли русского флота.

Церемония закладки церкви состоялась в годовщину Цусимского сражения. Ее провел епископ Вологодский Никон (Рождественский) с крестным ходом из Никольского морского собора. В закладной камень великая княжна Ольга Константиновна положила солдатский Георгиевский крест.

Храм возводился по проекту архитектора Мариана Перетятковича, который взял за образец древние православные церкви XII века. Внешне он отчасти напоминал храм Покрова на Нерли. Облицованный белым камнем, храм очень красиво смотрелся с Невы, замыкая перспективу набережной.

Храм состоял из нижнего храма во имя святителя Николая Чудотворца и верхнего - во имя Гефсиманского борения Христа Спасителя. Внутри на бронзовых мемориальных досках были выбиты имена моряков, павших в годы войны – все двенадцать тысяч имен, от адмирала Макарова до последнего матроса. Над каждой доской было начертано название судна и сражения с его участием. В верхнем храме на алтарной стене находилась мозаика «Спаситель, шествующий по водам», исполненная по эскизу Николая Бруни. Две мозаичные иконы на столбах были выполнены по эскизам художников Виктора Васнецова и Николая Бруни. В народе храм называли «Спас на водах».

Торжественное освящение храма состоялось (31 июля) 13 августа 1911 года в присутствии Николая II и членов императорской фамилии.

8 марта 1932 года храм был закрыт и вскоре взорван, несмотря на тысячи собранных подписей. Причт и часть прихожан были репрессированы.

В 1990 году был создан Комитет по восстановлению храма «Спас-на-Водах». Но из-за того, что на части фундамента церкви сегодня стоит производственный корпус «Адмиралтейских верфей», было принято решение на первом этапе возвести часовню, которая в дальнейшем должна будет органично сочетаться с возрожденным храмом. Проект восстановления церкви и постройки часовни разработал архитектор Д. А. Бутырин.

Часовня была заложена 27 мая 1998 года. Четыре года спустя на нее был торжественно поднят крест, который повторяет очертания креста, венчавшего Спас-на-Водах в начале XX века: в силуэте использованы стилизованные штурвал и якоря. 24 мая 2003 года состоялось торжественное освящение часовни во имя святителя Николая Чудотворца.

В настоящее время в часовне регулярно совершаются панихиды по погибшим морякам.