Church

The Lutheran church of St. Catherine

Address

Bolshoy pr. V.I., 1

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1768–1771

Architect

Yu.M. Felten

Style

classicism

An active temple of the Evangelical Lutheran Church

St. Catherine's Church on Vasilievsky Island is a historical and architectural monument of federal significance and it is protected by the state.

The temple was built in 1771 by the architect Yu.M. Felten. The building is typical for this architect, who created several temples in St. Petersburg. Planned as rectangular two-tiered church includes a round lobby, office space and a large hall divided into three parts by columns of the Corinthian order. The southern part of the building is crowned by a small dome on a high drum, which is successfully included in the composition of the main facade. The four-column Doric portico of the main facade is typical for the architecture of early classicism.

In 1902-1903 the church was partially rebuilt and expanded under the guidance of the architect L.Kh. Marshner. There were built rooms for stairs on the sides of the portico that turned it into a loggia. At the same time, the statues of the apostles Peter and Paul were moved to the niches of the outer walls of the staircase adjoining by the sides of the loggia.

By 1917 the parish included an almshouse for widows, an orphanage, a school for boys as a gymnasium, a female gymnasium and elementary schools for boys and girls. In the 1930s the parish was disbanded by the authorities. After reconstruction the building was returned to the faithful. In 1995 a cross was installed over the dome. In 1999 an organ arrived. Currently, the church is active. It is the part of the structure of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Russia.

Храм

Лютеранская церковь Святой Екатерины

Адрес

Большой пр. В.О., 1

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1768–1771

Архитектор

Ю.М. Фельтен

Стиль

классицизм

Храмы /

Церковь Святой Екатерины на Васильевском острове — памятник истории и архитектуры федерального значения и охраняется государством.

Храм был построен в 1771 году по проекту архитектора Ю.М. Фельтена. Здание характерно для творчества зодчего, создавшего в Петербурге несколько храмов. Прямоугольная в плане, двухъярусная церковь включает круглый в плане вестибюль, служебные помещения и большой зал, разделенный на три части колоннами коринфского ордера. Южную часть здания венчает небольшой купол на высоком барабане, удачно включенный в композицию главного фасада. Главный фасад с его четырехколонным дорическим портиком типичен для архитектуры раннего классицизма.

В 1902–1903 годы церковь была частично перестроена и расширена под руководством архитектора Л.Х. Маршнера — по сторонам портика были сооружены помещения для лестниц, что превратило его в лоджию. Тогда же статуи апостолов Петра и Павла перенесли в ниши наружных стен лестничных пристроек по сторонам лоджии.

К 1917 году в состав прихода входили богадельня для вдов, сиротский приют, училище для мальчиков на правах гимназии, женская гимназия, начальные школы для мальчиков и девочек. В 1930-е годы приход расформирован властями, после перестройки здание вернули верующим. В 1995 над куполом установлен крест, а в 1999 — орган. В настоящее время церковь является действующей, входит в структуру Евангелическо-Лютеранской Церкви России.