Church

Church of St. Catherine

Address

Cadetskaya line, 27

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1811—1823, 1863

Architect

AA Mikhailov (second), FI Nesterov

Style

classicism

Active Orthodox church

The Orthodox Church of St. Catherine was founded in 1811. It was designed in Greek style by architect A. A. Mikhailov the 2nd. In 1863, a stone bell tower was erected on the western side by the project of Academician F.I. Nesterov. One-story pavilions, a lodge and a chapel, were built on both sides of the bell tower where the image of the St.Great Martyr Catherine was stored.  An iron grating with two gates designed by V.A. Bolotov was installed between the pavilions.

Initially, the church building was a central-domed construction with a Greek cross at the heart of it. The major vertical element was a dome put on a high drum in the form of a rotunda with a colonnade of an Ionic order and an angel sculpture on a copper ball on its top. In the hands of the angel is a copper gilded cross. The bell tower over the western facade violated the original composition.

Later, the appearance of the church remained almost unchanged. The church was light and spacious inside. The church had two side chapels: the right one in the name of the prophet John the Baptist, and left one in the name of the Apostle John the Devine.

After the revolution, the church was looted. In 1933, the building was handed over to the Hydrological Institute for organizing a laboratory in its premises. In June 1942, shells hit the chapel of the church. A cross from the hands of the angel crowning the dome was seized.

In March 1996, part of the building was returned to the believers. Regular worship services take place only in the premises under the bell tower. Recently, the preparatory work has been carried out for the complete restoration of the sculpture of the Angel with a cross crowning the dome of the church.

Храм

Церковь Святой Екатерины

Адрес

Кадетская линия, 27

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1811—1823, 1863

Архитектор

А. А. Михайлов (второй), Ф. И. Нестеров

Стиль

классицизм

Православная церковь Святой Екатерины была заложена в 1811 году по проекту архитектора А. А. Михайлова 2-го в «греческом вкусе». В 1863 году с западной стороны была возведена каменная колокольня по проекту академика Ф. И. Нестерова. По обе стороны от колокольни были сооружены одноэтажные павильоны — сторожка и часовня, где находился образ Святой великомученицы Екатерины. Между ними установлена железная решетка с двумя воротами, ее автор — В. А. Болотов.

Изначально здание церкви представляло собой центрально-купольное сооружение с греческим крестом в основе плана. Вертикальной доминантой был купол на высоком барабане в виде ротонды с колоннадой ионического ордера и скульптурой ангела на медном шаре на его вершине. В руках ангела находится медный позолоченный крест. Колокольня над западным фасадом нарушила первоначальную композицию.

В дальнейшем облик храма почти не менялся. Внутри церковь была светлой, просторной. Храм имел два боковых придела: правый — во имя пророка Иоанна Крестителя, левый во имя апостола Иоанна Богослова.

После революции храм был разграблен, в 1933 году здание передали Гидрологическому институту для организации лаборатории. В июне 1942 года в часовню при церкви попали снаряды. Из рук ангела, венчающего купол, был изъят крест.

В марте 1996 года часть здания была возвращена верующим. Регулярные богослужения проходят только в помещении под колокольней.  В настоящее время проведены подготовительные работы для полной реставрация скульптуры Ангела с крестом на куполе храма.