Church

Church of the Annunciation

Address

5th Sovetskaya st., 31-33

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1889-1892

Architect

N.N. Nikonov

Style

Neorussian

Church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built by architect N.N. Nikonov in 1889-1893 in the Neo-Russian style. The appearance of the compound of the Old Athos St. Andrew’s male monastery in St. Petersburg on the corner of 5th Rozhdestvenskaya (Sovetskaya) and Degtyarnaya streets was associated with the construction of the St. Andrew’s monastery on Mount Athos in Greece. The temple represented the Holy Mount Athos in the capital of the Russian Empire and was called: Old Athos Compound in St. Petersburg.

The two-story church was erected in the traditions of Moscow and Yaroslavl architecture of the XVII century. The construction was crowned by a five-domed, uneven-domed system with a tented main drum and a high tented bell tower with two side chapters above the narthex. The walls, heads and apse were richly decorated with ornamental belts, columns, kokoshniks.

The church had two iconostases: oak in the lower church and gilded in the upper. The author of the iconostasis was also the architect Nikonov, and the icons were painted by Athos monks.

The temple was closed in 1933, the building housed the storage of the Leningrad State Archive.

In 2016, the administration of St. Petersburg decided to return the building of the church of the St. Petersburg Diocese, the restoration of the temple began. In the same year, the first service was performed here. In 2017, the bells were returned to the temple, its dome is again crowned by the Orthodox cross.

Храм

Церковь Благовещения Пресвятой Богородицы

Адрес

ул. 5-я Советская, 31-33

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1889-1892

Архитектор

Н.Н. Никонов

Стиль

псевдорусский

Храм Благовещения Пресвятой Богородицы построен по проекту архитектора Н.Н. Никонова в 1889–1893 годах в неорусском стиле. Появление подворья Старо-Афонского Свято-Андреевского мужского скита в Петербурге на углу 5-й Рождественской (Советской) и Дегтярной улиц, было связано со строительством Андреевского скита на Афоне в Греции. Храм представлял в столице Российской Империи Святую Гору Афон и именовался: Старо-Афонское подворье в Санкт-Петербурге.

Двухэтажная церковь была возведена в традициях Московского и Ярославского зодчества XVII века. Постройку венчала пятиглавая разновысокая купольная система, с шатровым главным барабаном и высокая шатровая колокольня с двумя боковыми главками над притвором. Стены, главы и апсида были богато украшены орнаментальными поясами, колоннами, кокошниками.

Церковь имела два иконостаса: дубовый в нижнем храме и золоченый в верхнем. Автором иконостаса также являлся архитектор Никонов, а иконы были написаны афонскими монахами.

Храм был закрыт в 1933 году, в здании расположилось хранилище Ленинградского государственного архива.

В 2016 году администрация Санкт-Петербурга приняла решение о возвращении здания церкви Санкт-Петербургской Епархии, началось восстановление храма. В том же году здесь была совершена первая служба. В 2017 году храму были возвращены колокола, его купол вновь венчает православный крест.