Famous building

Great Philharmonic hall of D.D. Shostakovich

Address

Arts sq., 2

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

24 hours

Years of foundation

1834–1839

Architects

K.I. Rossi, P.P. Jacot

Style

classicism

The project of the ensemble of Mikhailovskaya Square and the construction of this site of Italian Street was designed by the architect K.I. Rossi in the first half of the XIX century. The building that now houses the Philharmonic, was built in 1834-1839 by architect P.P. Jaco for the Noble Assembly of St. Petersburg. He also owns the look of a large three-room hall (now a concert hall), which is decorated with Corinthian columns of white artificial marble.

From the late 1940s, the first-class acoustics room, which seats more than 1500 people, has become the center of the musical life of St. Petersburg. Famous musicians of the XIX century performed here: F. List, G. Berlioz, R. Wagner, A. Rubinshtein, K. Schuman. Here, for the first time, many compositions of the classics of Russian music were heard.

Originally the building was three-story. In 1899-1901 more floors were added according the project of V.A. Shreter and A. P. Maksimov. At the same time, a stone two-story vestibule (dismantled in 1931) was erected on the side of the square, the main staircase and lobby were reconstructed.

On June 12, 1921 the performance of the Sixth Symphony of P.I. Tchaikovsky in this building opened the Petrograd Philharmonic. And on August 9, 1942, in besieged Leningrad, Shostakovich's famous Seventh Symphony was first performed here.

Today the Great Hall of the Petersburg Philharmonic is considered one of the best concert halls in Europe. It accommodates more than 1500 spectators.

Достопримечательность

Большой зал Филармонии им. Д.Д. Шостаковича

Адрес

Пл. Искусств, 2

Ежедневно

Круглосуточно

Расписание работы

в соответствии с расписанием концертов

Год постройки

1834–1839

Архитектор

К.И. Росси, П.П. Жако

Стиль

классицизм

Ближайшие события

Концерт

01 / 12 / 2021

Концерт к 75-летию Виктора Плешака

Проект ансамбля Михайловской площади и застройки этого участка Итальянской улицы был разработан архитектором К.И. Росси в первой половине XIX века. Здание, где ныне располагается Филармония, было построено в 1834–1839 годах по проекту архитектора П.П. Жако для Дворянского собрания Санкт-Петербурга. Ему же принадлежит и решение большого трехсветного зала (сейчас концертный зал), который украшен коринфскими колоннами белого искусственного мрамора.

С конца 1940-х годов первоклассный по акустике зал, вмещающий более 1500 человек, стал центром музыкальной жизни Петербурга. Здесь выступали известные музыканты XIX века: Ф. Лист, Г. Берлиоз, Р. Вагнер, А. Рубинштейн, К. Шуман, Здесь же впервые прозвучали многие сочинения классиков русской музыки.

Первоначально здание было трехэтажным. В 1899–1901 годах его надстроили по проекту В.А. Шретера и А. П. Максимова. В это же время со стороны площади возвели каменный двухэтажный тамбур (разобран в 1931 году), реконструированы парадная лестница и вестибюль.

12 июня 1921 исполнением Шестой симфонии П.И. Чайковского в этом здании открылась Петроградская филармония. А 9 августа 1942 года, в блокадном Ленинграде, здесь впервые прозвучала знаменитая Седьмая симфония Шостаковича.

Сегодня Большой зал Петербургской филармонии считается одним из лучших концертных залов Европы. Он вмещает более 1500 зрителей.