Church

Blagoveschenskaya church

Address

8th line of the Vasilevsky island, 67

Category

Churches

Years of foundation

1750-1765

Architect

not installed

Style

baroque

Active Orthodox church

The wooden Blagoveschenskaya church was built in the 1740s by architect Giuseppe Trezzini. It existed until 1963. There were many famous historical figures among the parishioners of this church, including Vasily Trediakovsky and Mikhail Lomonosov. The stone Blagoveschenskaya Church located on the Vasilievsky Island was founded in 1750. The author of the project has not been identified (according to one of the versions, it was also Giuseppe Trezzini).

High five-domed church with a separate cupola above the altar and three-tier bell tower is somewhat unusual for St. Petersburg church architecture. By its appearance it is more like Moscow church architecture. The appearance of the church testifies to the synthesis of the traditions of Old Russian architecture and the architecture of mature baroque. The composition and decoration of the facades of the church are performed according to the baroque techniques. The bell tower which was built later was designed in classical style, using rustic stones, paired pilasters and archivolts with castle stones. A vast area of the church is surrounded by a fence. In the XVIII century there was a cemetery on the territory of the church.

In the middle of the XIX century, the church was temporarily transferred to the Voskresensky Novodevichy convent, but it was returned to the parish back in the 1860s. The church was repainted by R.F. Vinogradov. Since 1862, the Community of Assistance to the Poor Parish, which is the oldest community in St. Petersburg, was functioning in the church, operating an almshouse, a shelter, a school and cheap housing.

In the Soviet years the church was closed, and the historic building was recognized as being in emergency condition. For a long time it housed an office and warehouses. Later, the church was seriously damaged during the war. In 1992, the Blagoveschenskaya church has been returned to the believers. Now the restoration works on the church are underway.

Храм

Благовещенская церковь

Адрес

8-я линия Васильевского острова, 67

Категория

Храмы

Год постройки

1750-1765

Архитектор

не установлен

Стиль

барокко

Деревянная Благовещенская церковь была построена в 1740-е годы по проекту архитектора Джузеппе Трезини. Она просуществовала до 1963 года, и в числе ее прихожан было много известных исторических личностей, в том числе Василий Тредиаковский и Михаил Ломоносов. Каменный Благовещенский храм на Васильевском острове был заложен в 1750 году, автор проекта не установлен (по одной из версий им также является Джузеппе Трезини).

Высокая пятикупольная церковь с отдельным куполом над алтарем и трехъярусной колокольней несколько необычна для петербургской церковной архитектуры и своим внешним видом больше напоминает московские храмы. Облик храма свидетельствует о синтезе традиций древнерусского зодчества и архитектуры зрелого барокко. Композиционный строй и оформление фасадов храма следуют приемам барокко. Возведенная позднее колокольня решена в классическом стиле, с использованием руста, парных пилястр и архивольтов с замковыми камнями. Обширный участок церкви обнесен оградой. В XVIII веке на его территории находилось кладбище.

В середине XIX века церковь временно передали в ведение Воскресенского Новодевичьего монастыря, однако в 1860-е годы храм вернули приходу. Церковь была заново расписана Р. Ф. Виноградовым. С 1862 года при храме действовало старейшее в Петербурге Общество вспомоществования приходским бедным, содержавшее богадельню, приют, школу и дешевое жилье.

В советские годы храм была закрыт, историческое здание признали аварийным. Долгое время в нем располагалась монтажная контора и склады. Впоследствии храм серьезно пострадал во время войны. 1992 году Благовещенская церковь возвращена верующим. Сейчас в храме продолжаются реставрационные работы.