Famous building

Library of the Russian Academy of Sciences (BAN)

Address

Birzhevaya line, 1

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1914, 1925

Architects

R.R. Marfeld, R.A. Berzen, J. Ya. Catcher

Style

Constructivism

On September 1, 1714, the first state public library in Russia (now the Library of the Russian Academy of Sciences) was opened in St. Petersburg by the decree of Peter I. The decree itself has not survived to this day, and the date of the foundation of the library is considered the day when the books were issued to readers.

The fund was based on manuscripts and books of the Kremlin Tsarist Library in Moscow, the personal collection of Peter I in the Summer Palace, the Apothecary Prikaz, the Gottorp Library of the Dukes of Holstein, the Mitava Library of the Dukes of Courland, as well as book and manuscript collections of the associates of Peter I.

Beginning in the 18th century, collections of private individuals - the historian V.N.Tatishchev, the Slavists A.I. Yatsimirsky and I.I. Sreznevsky, merchant F.M.Plyushkin, Slavist and researcher of Old Belief V.G. Druzhinin and many others.

Since 1718, the library was housed in the "Kikin Chambers", and 10 years later the building of the Kunstkamera moved. On December 5, 1747, there was a massive fire that destroyed the tower of the building and the Gottorp Globe, and the library was also damaged.

Another fire happened on January 8, 1901, due to the dilapidated heating system. More than 1,500 volumes of valuable publications were lost in the library. After that, on the initiative of the curator of the department of Slavic manuscripts of the library, V.I. Sreznevsky, archaeographic expeditions across Russia began to collect manuscripts and early printed books from the population, which significantly enriched the manuscript funds.

The new, modern building of the library in the constructivist style was erected in 1913-1914 according to the project of the architect R.R. Marfeld, civil engineer R.A. Bersen. But due to the outbreak of the First World War, it was transferred to the Ministry of War, which placed an evacuation hospital there. In the 1920s, the architect J. Ya. Ketcher has completed the facades. The library moved into this building only in 1925.

The tragic date for the Library of the Academy of Sciences is February 14, 1988. On the night of February 15, the third fire took place, the largest in the history of the library. He raged for almost 10 hours. The temperature reached 800 degrees. Glass in the windows burst. The fire was extinguished by forces of almost forty fire brigades of the city. Later, the old firefighters will say that such a difficult case has not happened since the siege of Leningrad.

The ashes were dismantled for several weeks by the library staff and many volunteers. The results of the disaster were terrifying: 3.5 million storage units were damaged by fire, water and subsequently mold, including many rare publications. The fire destroyed books of the 17th century, scientific books of the beginning of the 20th century, the department of foreign literature and a third of the newspaper fund. Thousands of books still lie in special boxes that protect them from destructive moisture and light.

Currently, the library contains over 20 million books. It contains such valuable ancient manuscripts as the Ipatiev Chronicle and the Radziwill Chronicle. The library receives a mandatory copy of all printed publications registered by the Russian Book Chamber.

Достопримечательность

Библиотека Российской академии наук (БАН)

Адрес

Биржевая линия, 1

Ежедневно

Расписание работы

Обслуживание читателей: понедельник – пятница, с 10.00 до 17.30

Год постройки

1914, 1925

Архитектор

Р.Р. Марфельд, Р.А. Берзен, Я.Я. Кетчер

Стиль

Конструктивизм

1 сентября 1714 года в Санкт-Петербурге Указом Петра I была открыта первая в России государственная публичная библиотека (ныне — Библиотека Российской академии наук).  Сам Указ до наших дней не дошел, и датой основания библиотеки считается день начала выдачи книг читателям.

Основу фонда составили рукописи и книги Кремлевской царской библиотеки в Москве, личного собрания Петра I в Летнем дворце, Аптекарского приказа, Готторпской библиотеки герцогов Голштинских, Митавской библиотеки герцогов Курляндских, а также книжные и рукописные коллекции сподвижников Петра I.

Начиная с XVIII века в фонды библиотеки поступали коллекции частных лиц — историка В. Н. Татищева, славистов А.И. Яцимирского и И.И. Срезневского, купца Ф. М. Плюшкина, слависта и исследователя старообрядчества В. Г. Дружинина и многих других.

С 1718 года библиотека размещалась в «Кикиных палатах», а спустя 10 лет переехала здание Кунсткамеры. 5 декабря 1747 года произошел сильный пожар, который уничтожил башню здания и Готторпский глобус, пострадала и библиотека.

Еще один пожар случился 8 января 1901 года из-за ветхости системы отопления. В библиотеке погибло более 1500 томов ценных изданий. После этого по инициативе хранителя отделения славянских рукописей библиотеки В.И. Срезневского начались археографические экспедиции по России для сбора рукописей и старопечатных книг у населения, которые существенно обогатили рукописные фонды.

Новое, современное здание библиотеки в стиле конструктивизм было возведено в 1913–1914 годах по проекту архитектора Р.Р. Марфельда, строительством руководил гражданский инженер Р.А. Берзен. Но из-за начавшейся Первой мировой войны оно было передано военному министерству, которое разместило там эвакуационный госпиталь. В 1920-х годах архитектор Я.Я. Кетчер завершил отделку фасадов. Библиотека въехала в это здание только в 1925 году.

Трагическая дата для Библиотеки Академии наук —14 февраля 1988 года. В ночь на 15 февраля произошел третий пожар, крупнейший в истории библиотеки. Он бушевал почти 10 часов. Температура доходила до 800 градусов. Лопались стекла в окнах. Огонь тушили силами почти сорока пожарных команд города. Позднее старые пожарные скажут, что такого сложного случая не было со времен блокады Ленинграда.

Пепелище разбирали несколько недель силами работников библиотеки и множества волонтеров. Результаты бедствия ужасали: от огня, воды и впоследствии – плесени пострадало 3,5 млн. единиц хранения, в том числе погибло множество редких изданий. Пожар уничтожил книги XVII века, научные книги начала XX века, отдел иностранной литературы и треть газетного фонда. Тысячи книг до сих пор лежат в специальных боксах, защищающих их от разрушительной влаги и света.

В настоящее время в библиотеке хранится более 20 миллионов книг. В ней хранятся такие ценнейшие древние рукописи как Ипатьевская летопись и Радзивилловская летопись. В библиотеку поступает обязательный экземпляр всех печатных изданий, зарегистрированных Российской книжной палатой.