Church

The Catholic Church of St. Catherine

Address

Nevsky prospect, 32-34

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1763–1783

Architect

Pietro Trezzini, Jean-Baptiste Wallin-Delamot

Style

early classicism

An active temple of the Roman Catholic Church

The Catholic Church of St. Catherine of Alexandria is the oldest temple of the Roman Catholic Church in St. Petersburg. It was built in 1763-1783 in the early classicist style by the architects Pietro Trezzini and Jean-Baptiste Vallin de la Mothe.

The building has the form of a Latin cross with a transverse transept with a large dome on it. The length of the building is 44 meters, the width - 25 meters, the height - 42 meters. The main facade looks like an arch portal supported by free-standing columns. Above the facade there is a high parapet with the placed figures of the four evangelists and angels holding the cross.

 The temple has always been not only a decoration of the Northern capital, but also a symbol of tolerance and interaction of cultures. Architects Bartolomeo Rastrelli and Auguste Montferrand, artist Fedor Bruni, composer Mikalojus Čiurlionis, Princesses Zinaida Volkonskaia and Alexandra Golitsyna, Prince Ivan Gagarin, the future Decembrist Mikhail Lunin and many others prayed there. There were communities of Poles, French, Germans, Italians, Lithuanians, Latvians and Russians in the parish.

 Since 1884 the Roman Catholic Charity operated within the church as well as various schools and gymnasiums. The kings of Poland Stanislav August Poniatowski and Stanislav Leszczynski were buried in the dungeons of the temple. Till nowadays the French General Jean Victor Moreau, the chief of the Allied armies in the war with Napoleon, lies in the crypt of the church.

In September 1938 the church was closed and ruined. In 1992 the city authorities decided to return it to the community. A large-scale restoration work began the same year. On April 16, 2000 the altarpiece was consecrated. In 2013 the church was granted the status of a small basilica, the only one in Russia.

Храм

Базилика святой Екатерины Александрийской

Адрес

Невский пр., 32-34

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1763–1783

Архитектор

Пьетро Трезини, Жан-Батист Валлен-Деламот

Стиль

ранний классицизм

Храмы /

Храм св. Екатерины Александрийской – старейший в Санкт-Петербурге храм Римско-католической Церкви. Он был построен в 1763-1783 годы в стиле раннего классицизма по проекту архитекторов Пьетро Трезини и Жана-Батиста Валлен-Деламота.

Здание имеет форму латинского креста с поперечным трансептом, на нем - большой купол. Длина здания — 44 метра, ширина — 25 метров, высота — 42 метра. Главный фасад имеет вид арочного портала, опирающегося на свободно стоящие колонны. Над фасадом - высокий парапет с размещенными фигурами четырёх евангелистов и ангелов, держащих крест.

Храм всегда был не только украшением Северной столицы, но и символом веротерпимости и взаимодействия культур. Здесь молились архитекторы Бартоломео Растрелли и Огюст Монферран,  художник Федор Бруни, художник и композитор Микалоюс Чюрленис, княгини Зинаида Волконская и Александра Голицына, князь Иван Гагарин,  будущий декабрист Михаил Лунин и многие другие.  В приходе существовали  общины поляков, французов, немцев, итальянцев, литовцев, латышей, русских.

При храме действовали различные школы  и гимназии, а с 1884 года – Римско-католическое Благотворительное Общество. В подземельях храма были погребены короли Польши Станислав Август Понятовский и Станислав Лещинский. До сих пор в крипте храма покоится французский генерал Жан Виктор Моро, главнокомандующим союзными армиями в войне с Наполеоном.

В сентябре 1938 года храм был закрыт и разорен. В 1992 году городские власти приняли решение о его возвращении верующим. В том же году начались масштабные реставрационные работы. 16 апреля 2000 года была освящена алтарная часть. В 2013 году храму был дарован статус малой базилики, единственной в России.