Famous building

"Tower" of Vyacheslav Ivanov

Address

Tavricheskaya Str., 35

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1903-1905

Architects

M.N. Kondratiev

At the intersection of Tverskaya and Tavricheskaya streets in the center of St. Petersburg is a five-story house, crowned with a tower. The history of this house began in 1903 when an apartment house designed by Mikhail Kondratiev was built on a plot of land belonging to the merchant Dernov.

The house with a tower on the corner is a typical example of a twentieth-century modern. Large windows are framed by dragons, the facade is decorated with decorative elements, balconies - ornate cast iron fences in the Parisian style. The interior of the building fully corresponds to the general style, with large stained-glass windows, tiled stoves, rich stucco molding.

The house acquired its popularity in 1905 when, after returning from Europe, the poet Vyacheslav Ivanov and his wife Lidia Zinovieva-Annibal settled in it. In this famous salon, literary evenings "Ivanovo Wednesdays", where poets, artists, critics and theatrical figures of the Silver Age gathered, were held. The young Akhmatova got recognition here, for the first time Blok's "Stranger" sounded.

"Ivanovo Wednesdays" stopped assembling after the death of the poet’s wife in 1907. But in 1910 the "Tower Theater" was created here under the lead of Vsevolod Meyerhold.

Ivanov Vyacheslav left Russia in 1912, but the "Ivanov's Tower" has survived to this day. Today it is a residential building with expensive, prestigious real estate, and it's difficult to get inside.

Достопримечательность

«Башня» Вячеслава Иванова

Адрес

Таврическая ул., 35

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1903–1905 годы

Архитектор

М.Н. Кондратьев

Стиль

модерн

На пересечении улиц Тверской и Таврической в центре Санкт-Петербурга находиться пятиэтажный дом, увенчанный башней. История этого дома началась в 1903 году, когда на участке земли, принадлежавшем купцу Дернову, был построен доходный дом  по проекту Михаила Кондратьева.

Дом с башней на углу — типичный образец модерна ХХ века. Большие окна обрамлены драконами, фасад украшен декоративными элементами, балконы – витиеватыми чугунными решетками в Парижском стиле. Интерьер внутри здания полностью соответствует общему стилю – с большими витражами, изразцовыми печами, богатой лепниной.

Свою популярность дом приобрел в 1905 году, когда, вернувшись из Европы, в нем поселился поэт Вячеслав Иванов вместе со своей женой Лидией Зиновьевой-Аннибал. В этом знаменитом салоне проходили литературные вечера — «Ивановские среды», где собирались поэты, художники, критики и  театральные деятели Серебряного века. Признание публики здесь получила молодая Ахматова, в первый раз прозвучала «Незнакомка» Блока.

«Ивановские среды» перестали собираться после смерти жены Вячеслава Иванова в 1907 году. Но в 1910 году здесь был создан «Башенный театр» под руководством Всеволода Мейерхольда.

Иванов Вячеслав уехал из России в 1912 году, но «башня Иванова» сохранилась по сегодняшний день. Сегодня это жилой дом с дорогой, престижной недвижимостью, и внутрь попасть сложно.