Famous building

Apraksin Yard (Apraksin dvor)

Address

Sadovaya Str. 28/30

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1863–1864

Architects

A.I. Krakau, LF Fontana, I.D. Corsini et al.

Style

eclecticism

Apraksin yard (in common parlance - "Apraška") - one of the largest historical shopping centers of the city. It occupies 14 hectares of territory, bordered by the streets of Sadovaya, Lomonosov, Fontanka embankment and Apraksin lane. It was named after the first owner of the land plot - Count Fedor Apraksin.

Historically, the territory of the present Apraksin yard was composed of two parts - Shchukin and Apraksin yards. The owner of the first in the middle of the XVIII century was the merchant Ivan Shchukin, where they sold agricultural products.

Since 1754, the construction of trade shops began on the Apraksin site. By the end of the XVIII century, there were formed extensive trading rows. So, by the middle of the XIX century in Shchukin and Apraksin yards was concentrated almost the entire secondhand trade of St. Petersburg.

In 1833 by decree of Nicholas I Apraksin and Shchukin yards were united in one vast market. In 1862 most of the buildings were destroyed by a strong fire. The main buildings of the Apraksin court, preserved to this day, were built in the 1870s and 1880s. Now Apraksin yard includes 57 buildings.

In the XXI century, work began on the fundamental reconstruction of the territory of the shopping complex. It is planned that most of the existing retail areas will move to the outskirts of St. Petersburg.

Достопримечательность

Апраксин двор

Адрес

Садовая ул., 28/30

Год постройки

1863–1864 годы

Архитектор

А.И. Кракау, Л.Ф. Фонтана, И.Д. Корсини и др.

Стиль

эклектика

Апраксин двор (в просторечии – «Апрашка») — один из крупнейших исторических торговых центров города. Он занимает 14 га территории, ограниченной улицами Садовой, Ломоносова, набережной Фонтанки и Апраксиным переулком. Назван по фамилии первого владельца земельного участка — графа Федора Апраксина.

Исторически территория нынешнего Апраксина двора складывалась из двух частей — Щукина и Апраксина дворов. Владельцем первого в середине XVIII века был купец Иван Щукин, здесь где торговали сельскохозяйственными продуктами.

С 1754 года на участке Апраксина началось строительство торговых лавок. К концу XVIII века здесь сформировались обширные торговые ряды. Так, к середине XIX века в Щукином и Апраксином дворах была сосредоточена почти вся букинистическая торговля Санкт-Петербурга.

В 1833 году указом Николая I Апраксин и Щукин дворы были объединены в один обширный рынок. В 1862 году большую часть строений уничтожил сильный пожар. Основные корпуса Апраксина двора, сохранившиеся по сей день, были сооружены в 1870—1880-х годах. Сейчас Апраксин двор включает 57 корпусов.

В XXI веке начались работы по фундаментальной реконструкции территории торгового комплекса. Планируется, что большинство действующих торговых площадей переедут на окраины Петербурга.