Palace

Ensemble of Anchor Square

Address

Kronstadt, Yakornaya sq.

Daily

Anchor - the central square of the city of Kronstadt. It originates from the warehouse of anchors that existed here in 1754–1898 from decommissioned ships. A unique cast-iron pavement has survived here - perhaps the only one in Russia. The bridge length of about 200 meters consists of 15 thousand iron checkers.

The architectural dominant of the square is the Naval Cathedral of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, built in 1903–1913 in neo-Byzantine style according to the design by V.А. Kosyakov.

In front of the cathedral stands a monument to an outstanding Russian naval commander, oceanographer, polar explorer, shipbuilder, Vice Admiral Stepan Osipovich Makarov (1849–1904). The monument was erected in 1913, its author is sculptor L.V. Sherwood.

The bronze figure of the navigator stands on the edge of a huge granite rock, and the stone sea wave that runs onto it resembles a Japanese dragon in outline, as a symbol of the death of S.O. Makarov on the battleship "Petropavlovsk" in 1904 during the defense of Port Arthur. The height of the sculpture is 3.55 meters, the height of the pedestal is 5 meters.

Also there is the Mass grave with the eternal flame and other monuments to the sailors who died in the Russian-Japanese, Civil and Great Patriotic War, on the Anchor Square.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Ансамбль Якорной площади

Адрес

г. Кронштадт, Якорная пл.

Ежедневно

Якорная — центральная площадь города Кронштадт. Она берет свое начало от существовавшего здесь в 1754–1898 годах склада якорей со списанных кораблей. Здесь сохранилась уникальная чугунная мостовая — возможно, единственная в России. Мостовая протяжённостью около 200 метров  состоит из 15 тысяч чугунных шашек.

Архитектурная доминанта площади — Морской собор святителя Николая Чудотворца, построенный в 1903–1913 годах в неовизантийском стиле по проекту В.А. Косякова.

Перед собором стоит памятник выдающемуся русскому флотоводцу, океанографу, полярному исследователю, кораблестроителю, вице- адмиралу Степану Осиповичу Макарову (1849–1904). Монумент был воздвигнут в 1913 году, его автор — скульптор Л.В. Шервуд.

Бронзовая фигура мореплавателя стоит на краю огромной гранитной скалы, а каменная морская волна, набегающая на неё, очертаниями напоминает японского дракона — как символ гибели С.О. Макарова на броненосце «Петропавловск» в 1904 году при обороне Порт-Артура. Высота скульптуры — 3,55 метров, высота постамента — 5 метров.

Также на Якорной площади расположена Братская могила с вечным огнем и другие памятники морякам, погибшим в Русско-Японскую, Гражданскую и Великую Отечественную войну.