Palace

The ensemble of the Austrian Square

Address

Square at the intersection of Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt and Mira Street

Daily

Years of foundation

1901-1906, 28 September 1992

Architects

V.V. Shaub and others

Style

modern

Square at the intersection of Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt and Mira Street.

In the XIX century, there were land plots with gardens, one-and two-story wooden houses with the stone bottom, and the area had arc-shaped outlines. In the 1890s, it was re-planned, the square became multifaceted, but for another hundred years, it had no name. Only in 1992, the area was named Austrian for the similarity of the architectural style of buildings with Viennese modernism.

Four of the five houses (houses 13, 16, 18 and 20 on Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt) were built at the beginning of the 20th century. The author of houses 13, 16 and 20 is the architect Vasily Vasilievich Shaub. Here he created one of the few architectural ensembles in the Art Nouveau style in St. Petersburg.

The most interesting of them is house 13, an apartment house of honorary citizen Konstantin Khristianovich Keldal, built in 1902-1903. Here, in apartment number 20, in 1907-1908 the writer Leonid Andreev lived. He held literary evenings, among which Alexander Blok and Fyodor Sologub were regular visitors.

House 16 is a profitable house of E.K. Lipgart, built in 1905-1906. Its owner is E.K. Lipgart (1906-1929), an academician of painting, painter-decorator and outstanding historian of Renaissance painting, chief curator of the Hermitage Art Gallery.

House 20 is a profitable house of a hereditary honorary citizen, mayor of St. Petersburg, M.M. Gorbov, built in the years 1901-1902. In 1907, at the first city competition of facades, the building was awarded an honorary diploma.

Especially fashionable was the area after the opening in 1903 of the permanent Trinity Bridge, which connected the St. Petersburg (as it was then called) side with the Admiralty part. It was at this time that the Art Nouveau style blossomed, for which the Petrograd side is still famous

Архитектурный ансамбль

Ансамбль Австрийской площади

Адрес

площадь на пересечении Каменноостровского проспекта с улицей Мира

Ежедневно

Год постройки

начало 1900-х годов

Стиль

модерн

В XIX веке здесь находились земельные участки с садами и огородами, деревянные с каменным низом одно- и двухэтажные постройки, и площадь имела дугообразные очертания. В 1890-х годах ее перепланировали, площадь стала многогранной, но еще сто лет не имела имени. Только в 1992 году площадь назвали Австрийской за схожесть архитектурного стиля зданий с венским модерном.

Четыре из пяти выходящих на площадь домов (дома 13, 16, 18 и 20 по Каменноостровскому проспекту) были возведены в начале XX века. Автор домов 13, 16 и 20 — архитектор Василий Васильевич Шауб. Здесь он создал один из немногих в Санкт-Петербурге архитектурных ансамблей в стиле модерн.

Самый интересный из них — дом 13,  доходный дом почётного гражданина Константина Христиановича Кельдаля, построенный в 1902–1903 годах.  Здесь, в квартире №20,  в 1907-1908 годах жил писатель Леонид Андреев. У него устраивались литературные вечера, постоянными посетителями которых среди прочих были Александр Блок и Федор Сологуб.

Дом 16 — доходный дом Э.К. Липгарта, построен в 1905—1906 годах. Его владелец Э.К. Липгарт (1906—1929) — академик живописи, художник-декоратор и выдающийся историк живописи эпохи Возрождения, главный хранитель Картинной галереи Эрмитажа.

Дом 20 — доходный дом потомственного почётного гражданина, городского головы СПб М.М. Горбова, построен в 1901–1902 годах. В 1907 году на первом городском конкурсе фасадов здание было удостоено почётного диплома.

Особенно модным сделался этот район после открытия в 1903 году постоянного Троицкого моста, который соединил Петербургскую (как ее тогда называли) сторону с Адмиралтейской частью.  Именно к этому времени относится расцвет стиля модерн, которым и поныне славится Петроградская сторона.