Church

Andreevsky cathedral

Address

6th line of the Vasilievsky Island, 11

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1764-1780

Architect

A.Vist

Style

mixed, with features of classicism and baroque

Active Orthodox church

St. Andrew's Cathedral is one of the oldest churches in St. Petersburg. It is an architectural monument of the XVIII century. The name of the Andreevsky market located nearby originates from the name of this cathedral. 

The history of the church starts from the times of Peter the Great.  In 1724, Peter I called up the famous Swedish architect Nicodemus Tessin Jr. to design the project of St. Andrew's cathedral, which was supposed to be built on the arrow of the Vasilievsky Island. Tessin prepared design drawings and made a model of the church, but the construction plans failed to realize because of a sudden death of Tsar.

St. Andrew's Cathedral was founded in 1729. In 1744, the church was given the status of a cathedral. In 1761 the wooden building of the cathedral was struck by lightning and burnt to the ground. The construction of a stone church began in 1764 by the project of architect A. Vist. However, on August 6, 1766, during the construction of the building corpus, a cupola suddenly collapsed, and the architect was put under arrest. Subsequently, the architect was acquitted, and the construction works were continued.

After the consecration, which took place in 1780, the cathedral continued to be expanded and decorated. In 1798, the sculpture and the fence with the chapel were added inside the cathedral.  In 1813 the interior of the church was painted again. There were 10 bells on the bell tower of the cathedral. A large Sunday bell weighing 258 poods and a smaller, polyleic one weighing 129 poods, were casted for the church in 1806 in Moscow at the plant of Nikolai Samgin. The all-day bell was casted in 1796 in Valday.

To this day, the cathedral has preserved a magnificent carved wooden 17-meter gilded iconostasis of the XVIII century which is one of the oldest in the city. The portraits

 of Nicholay Chydotvorez and Alexander Nevsky allocated from the church of the Menshikov Palace, are in the temple from the times of its’ foundation.

Храм

Андреевский собор

Адрес

6-я линия Васильевского острова, 11

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1764-1780

Архитектор

А. Вист

Стиль

смешанный, с чертами классицизма и барокко

Андреевский собор — один из старейших петербургских храмов, памятник архитектуры XVIII века. От Андреевского собора происходит название расположенного рядом Андреевского рынка.

История храма начинается еще в петровские времена. В 1724 году Петр I заказал известному шведскому архитектору Никодемусу Тессину-младшему проект Андреевской церкви, которую предполагали поставить на стрелке Васильевского острова. Тессин предоставил проектные чертежи, была изготовлена модель церкви, однако из-за внезапной кончины царя осуществить замысел не удалось.

Андреевская церковь была заложена в 1729 году.  В 1744 году церкви присвоен статус собора, а в 1761 году деревянное здание сгорело в результате попадания молнии. Строительство каменного храма началось в 1764 году по проекту архитектора А. Виста. Однако 6 августа 1766 года во время сооружения свода неожиданно рухнул купол, и зодчего посадили под арест.  Впоследствии архитектора оправдали, и строительство было продолжено. 

После освящения, которое состоялось в 1780 году, храм продолжали расширять и украшать. В 1798 году внутри собора исполнена лепка и выстроена ограда с часовней, в 1813 году интерьер храма заново расписан. На колокольне собора имелось 10 колоколов. Большой воскресный колокол весом 258 пудов и меньший, полиелейный, весом 129 пудов отлили для храма в 1806 году в Москве на заводе Николая Самгина. Вседневный колокол был отлит в 1796 году на Валдае.

До наших дней в соборе сохранился великолепный резной деревянный 17-метровый золоченый иконостас XVIII века, один из старейших в городе. Образа Николая Чудотворца и Александра Невского, переданные из церкви Меншиковского дворца, находятся в храме с самого его основания.