Church

Academic church in the name of the Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian

Address

Obvodny Cannal emb., 17А

Category

Churches

Daily

09:00 – 20:00

Years of foundation

1838–1841, 1884–1888

Architect

A.F. Shchedrin, N.M. Markov

Style

Classicism

There are three churches in the St. Petersburg Theological Academy, and the main one is the temple in the name of the Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian.

Historically, the temple belonged to the St. Petersburg Theological Seminary. The building of the seminary with a house church was erected in 1838-1841 according to the project of the synodal architect Apollon Fedoseevich Shchedrin. On September 26, 1841, the temple was consecrated, the ceremony was performed by His Grace Filaret (Amphitheaters), Metropolitan of Kiev and Galicia.

In 1884, when the seminary celebrated its 75th anniversary, it was rebuilt and expanded according to the project of the synodal architect Nikolai Nikiforovich Markov. A three-storey building with external decoration in the Russian style was added from the yard. The temple is located on the third floor. On December 18, 1888 it was consecrated by Archbishop Leonty (Lebedinsky) of Kholmsk and Warsaw, later Metropolitan of Moscow and Kolomna.

In 1918 the seminary was closed, and the church did not work either. On October 8, 1946, the church in the name of the Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian was re-consecrated in the same place.

The church houses the miraculous image of the Most Holy Theotokos "The Sign" of Tsarskoye Selo, the family shrine of the Romanovs' house. It appears in Russia in the 17th century, when Patriarch Athanasius of Constantinople presented the image to Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich. After the founding of the new capital, St. Petersburg, Peter I transferred the icon to the palace on the Neva. In the spring of 1948, with the blessing of Metropolitan of Leningrad and Novgorod Grigory (Chukov), the icon was transferred to the revived Leningrad Theological Academy.

Храм

Академический храм во имя апостола и евангелиста Иоанна Богослова

Адрес

наб. Обводного канала, 17А

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

09:00 – 20:00

Год постройки

1838–1841, 1884–1888

Архитектор

А.Ф. Щедрин, Н.М. Марков

Стиль

Классицизм

Сайт

В Санкт-Петербургской духовной академии действуют три храма, и главный из них — храм во имя апостола и евангелиста Иоанна Богослова.

Исторически храм относился к Санкт-Петербургской духовной семинарии. Здание семинарии с домовой церковью было возведено в 1838-1841 годах по проекту синодального архитектора Аполлона Федосеевича Щедрина. 26 сентября 1841 года храм был освящен, церемонию совершил Преосвященный Филарет (Амфитеатров), митрополит Киевский и Галицкий.

В 1884 году, когда семинария отпраздновала свой 75-летний юбилей, ее перестроили и расширили по проекту синодального архитектора Николая Никифоровича Маркова. Со двора был пристроен трехэтажный корпус с наружной отделкой в русском стиле. На третьем этаже разместился храм. 18 декабря 1888 года его освятил архиепископ Холмский и Варшавский Леонтий (Лебединский), впоследствии митрополит Московский и Коломенский.

В 1918 году семинария была закрыта, не работала и церковь. 8 октября 1946 года храм во имя апостола и евангелиста Иоанна Богослова был вновь освящен на прежнем месте.

В храме находится чудотворный образ Пресвятой Богородицы «Знамение» Царскосельская, фамильная святыня дома Романовых. В России она появляется в XVII веке, когда Константинопольский Патриарх Афанасий подарил образ царю Алексею Михайловичу. После основания новой столицы, Санкт-Петербурга, Петр I перенес икону во дворец на Неве. Весной 1948 года по благословению митрополита Ленинградского и Новгородского Григория (Чукова) икона была передана в возрожденную Ленинградскую духовную академию.