Famous building

The building of the Ministry of Internal Affairs on Liteiny

Address

Liteyny pr., 6А

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1933–1943

Architects

I.F. Bezpalov

Style

Constructivism

Constructivist building on the corner of Liteiny Prospekt and Tchaikovsky st.(formerly Sergievskaya) was built in the 1930s for the Stalin OGPU-NKVD together with the infamous Big House on Liteiny 4. The building had a permit office in building No. 6A, and now it is the department of the Ministry of the Interior for St. Petersburg and the Leningrad Region.

Earlier in this place stood the Cathedral of St. Sergius of Radonezh, which gave the name of Sergievskaya Street. The cathedral has a rich history dating back to the 18th century. The first wooden church was built in 1731 for the craftsmen of the Foundry. In 1737 the temple burned down and was rebuilt according to the project of architect I. Schumacher.

In 1796-1800 the church was rebuilt again according to the project of the architect F.I. Demertsov. The three-chapel cathedral was crowned with a large dome on a powerful drum, the main entrance is decorated with a four-column portico, above which a two-tier bell tower.

The last reconstruction of the cathedral was made in 1914-1916 by the architect L.N. Benoit, and the artist A.G. Platunov painted the temple from the inside. Then, a chapel-tomb of artillery officers who died during the First World War was added to the cathedral. Two more chapels were in the fence.

In 1932, the cathedral was closed and partially dismantled, the bearing walls were used in the construction of the NKVD building. Today, a memorial plaque designed by architect V. Rasteryaev and installed in 2008 recalls the cathedral.

Знаменитое здание

Здание МВД на Литейном

Адрес

Литейный пр., 6А

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1933–1943

Архитектор

И.Ф. Безпалов

Стиль

Конструктивизм

Знаменитые здания /

Конструктивистское здание на углу Литейного проспекта и ул. Чайковского (бывшей Сергиевской) было построено в 1930-х годах для сталинского ОГПУ-НКВД вместе с печально известным Большим домом на Литейном, 4. В доме №6А располагалось бюро пропусков, а сейчас – управление Министерства внутренних дел по СПб и ЛО.

Ранее на этом месте стоял собор преподобного Сергия Радонежского, давший имя Сергиевской улице. У собора – богатая история, берущая начало в XVIII веке. Первая деревянная церковь здесь была построена в 1731 году для мастеровых Литейного двора. В 1737 году храм сгорел и был отстроен по проекту архитектора И. Шумахера.

В 1796-1800 годах церковь вновь перестроили по проекту архитектора Ф.И Демерцова. Трехпридельный собор был увенчан большим куполом на мощном барабане, главный вход украшен четырехколонным портиком, над которым возвышалась двухъярусная колокольня.

Последняя реконструкция собора выполнена в 1914-1916 годах  архитектором Л.Н. Бенуа, а художник  А.Г. Платунов расписал храм изнутри. Тогда же  к собору пристроили часовню-усыпальницу офицеров-артиллеристов, погибших в годы I Мировой войны. Еще две часовни находились в ограде.

В 1932 году собор закрыли и частично разобрали, несущие стены были использованы при строительстве здания НКВД. Сегодня о соборе напоминает мемориальная доска, созданная по проекту архитектора В. Растеряева и установленная в 2008 году.