Famous building

Exhibition Complex "Lenexpo"

Address

Bolshoy pr. V.O., 103

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

10:00 – 19:00

Years of foundation

1963–2009

Architects

S.I. Evdokimov, E.I. Travnikov, D.B. Sedakov, V.M. Freifeld and others

Style

Modern

The exhibition site "Lenexpo" is located in the harbor, in the west of the Vasilievsky Island and on the shore of the Gulf of Finland. In the 20th century it was the largest exhibition center in the North-West region and one of the largest in the country.

By the beginning of the 1960s, here, at the end of Bolshoy Prospect V.O. there was a building with a turret and a spire in the style of "Stalin's Empire." It was built after the war by architect D.P. Buryshkin for the Marine Scientific Research Institute of Telecommunications and Telemechanics. After the opening of the "Lenexpo", the administrative building is located here, today it is Pavilion No. 9.

Complex "Lenexpo" was created for the opening of one of the first Soviet international exhibitions - Inrybprom-1968. The first exhibition pavilions were erected in the 1960s on a specially washed territory. They stood out among the buildings of Vasilevsky Island with sparkling glass facets of their facades.

In the 1970s-1990s, the exhibition area was expanded with several pavilions in a modern style, and today the complex consists of 9 pavilions, among which stands a modern pavilion No. 7 with a total area of 8133 sq. m. It was erected in 2005-2009 by the design of the architectural workshop of V.M. Freifeld. In 2006, the X St. Petersburg International Economic Forum was held here.

After the opening of the Expoforum Congress and Exhibition Complex in 2014, Lenexpo lost the palm tree, but even today more than a million St. Petersburg residents and guests of the Northern Capital visit the exhibitions at Lenexpo.

Достопримечательность

Выставочный комплекс «Ленэкспо»

Адрес

Большой пр. В.О., 103

Ежедневно

10:00 – 19:00

Расписание работы

В соответствии с расписанием выставок

Год постройки

1963–2009

Архитектор

С.И. Евдокимов, Е.И. Травников, Д.Б. Седаков, В.М. Фрайфельд и др.

Стиль

современный

Выставочный городок «Ленэкспо» расположился в Гавани, возле Морского вокзала, на западе Васильевского острова. В XX веке он был крупнейшим выставочным центром в Северо-Западном регионе и одним из самых больших в стране.

К началу 1960-х годов здесь, в конце Большого проспекта В.О. находилось здание с башенкой и шпилем в стиле «сталинский ампир». Оно было построено после войны по проекту архитектора Д.П. Бурышкина для Научно-исследовательского морского института связи и телемеханики. После открытия «Ленэкспо» здесь разместился Административный корпус, сегодня – это павильон №9.

Комплекс «Ленэкспо» создавался к открытию одной их первых советских международных выставок — «Инрыбпром-1968». Первые выставочные павильоны были возведены в 1960-е годы на специально намытой территории. Они выделялись среди застройки Васильевского острова сверкающими стеклянными гранями своих фасадов.

В 1970-е–1990-е годы выставочный городок пополнился несколькими павильонами в современном стиле, и сегодня комплекс состоит из 9 павильонов, среди которых выделяется современный павильон №7 общей площадью 8133 кв. метров. Он был возведен в 2005–2009 годах по проекту архитектурной мастерской В.М. Фрайфельда. В 2006 году здесь прошёл Х Петербургский международный экономический форум.

После открытия в 2014 году конгрессно-выставочного комплекса «Экспофорум» ВК «Ленэкспо» уступил ему пальму первенства, но и сегодня выставки в «Ленэкспо» ежегодно посещают более миллиона петербуржцев и гостей Северной Столицы.