Church

Resurrection Church

Address

Smolenskoye cemetery, Kamskaya Str. 24

Category

Churches

Daily

09:00 – 17:00

Years of foundation

1901-1903

Architect

V.A. Demyanovsky

Style

retrospectivism, "Naryshkin Baroque"

Active Orthodox church, open on Sundays

The Church of the Resurrection of Christ on the Smolensk cemetery was laid in 1901. The church was built according to the project of the architect V.A. Demianovsky as a tomb temple, in the basement of the temple crypts were built for burial. The building is stylized under the monuments of the Moscow Baroque.

The church is a non-plastered building made of red brick and has the shape of a ship, it was crowned by three domes. The three chapels inside are separated by blind walls and in fact are isolated churches. The corners of the facade are decorated horizontally with white stripes, the windows are decorated with stucco in Russian style. The main throne was adorned with a gilded carved baroque iconostasis with mosaic images according to the sketches of V.M. Vasnetsov.

In 1930, the Resurrection Church was closed and given to household needs. Church values and interior decoration were destroyed. All three domes are lost. In 1991 the building was returned to the Orthodox Church almost in the state of ruins. The main reconstruction works were completed in 2014.

At present, the church is attributed to the Church in honor of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God.

Храм

Воскресенская церковь

Адрес

Смоленское кладбище, Камская ул., 24

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

09:00 – 17:00

Год постройки

1901-1903

Архитектор

В. А. Демяновский

Стиль

ретроспективизм, «нарышкинское барокко»

Храм Воскресения Христова на Смоленском кладбище был заложен в 1901 году. Церковь строилась по проекту архитектора В. А. Демяновского как храм-усыпальница, в подвале храма были устроены склепы для захоронений. Здание стилизовано под памятники московского барокко.

Церковь представляет собой неоштукатуренное здание из красного кирпича и имеет форму корабля, его венчали три купола. Три придела внутри разделены глухими перегородками и по сути являются изолированными церквями. Углы фасада украшены по горизонтали белыми полосками, окна украшены лепниной в русском стиле. Главный престол украшал золоченый резной барочный иконостас с мозаичными образами по эскизам В. М. Васнецова.

В 1930 году Воскресенская церковь была закрыта и отдана под хозяйственные нужды. Церковные ценности и внутреннее убранство были уничтожены. Все три купола утрачены. В 1991 году здание возвращено православной церкви практически в состоянии руин. Основные восстановительные работы завершены в 2014 году.

В настоящее время храм приписан к Церкви в честь Смоленской иконы Божией Матери.