Famous building

Military-medical Academy

Address

Botkinskaya Str., 8 / Academician Lebedev Str., 6

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1798–1809

Architects

A. Porto, A.N. Voronikhin

Style

classicism

The two-storied stone building of the Military Medical Academy consists of the main building located in the interior of the vast front courtyard and two symmetrical, rectangular in plan side wings facing the facades to the street.

The project to build a medical school building on the Vyborg side in close proximity to the Sukhotun and Naval hospitals, founded as early as the beginning of the 18th century, was approved on December 18, 1798. By decree of Emperor Paul I the medical school at the hospitals was transformed into the Medical and Surgical Academy. Since 1881 the Academy has been called the Military Medical Academy.

A building was specially built for the Academy on the Vyborg side. The construction was started in 1799 on the project of Antonio Porto and finished in 1809 under the leadership of Andrei Voronikhin. The project was developed according to a program compiled by medical experts and provided for the creation of training clinics, classrooms, libraries, and residential premises for students. The building met the highest requirements of medical science of the time.

The general character of the composition of the building is typical for the Russian classicism of the late 1790s. The central building, decorated with a portico of six Corinthian columns bearing a pediment, is crowned with a dome close in outline to the dome of the Tauride Palace. Similar domes are crowned with cubic corner pavilions of side wings with loggias.

The walls of the main hall are decorated with the famous frescoes of the Italian artist Piero di Angeli, he also executed the decoration of the dome and the image of the goddesses of medicine, pharmacy, and science in the "sails" bordering the dome.

Gardens of the Military Medical Academy were created even before its foundation. At the turn of the XVIII-XIX centuries they were re-planned, and in the XIX century, the MMA became the center of a vast medical town.

Among other buildings of the MMA, it is worth paying attention to the huge building of the Land and Sea Hospitals (now the Military Clinical Hospital), which stretches along Pirogovskaya embankment in the houses 3-5. The building was erected in the second half of the 18th century according to the design of G.S. Voinitsky.

The Military Medical Academy played an outstanding role in the development of Russian medicine. Great Russian scientists used to work here - N. I. Pirogov, I. M. Sechenov, S. P. Botkin, I. P. Pavlov, V.М. Bekhterev and other outstanding doctors.

Достопримечательность

Военно-медицинская академия

Адрес

Боткинская ул., 8 / ул. Академика Лебедева, 6

Год постройки

1798–1809 годы

Архитектор

А. Порто, А.Н. Воронихин

Стиль

классицизм

Двухэтажное каменное здание Военно-медицинской академии состоит из главного корпуса, расположенного в глубине обширного парадного двора, и двух симметричных, прямоугольных в плане боковых флигелей, обращенных лицевыми фасадами на улицу.

Проект постройки здания врачебного училища на Выборгской стороне в непосредственной близости к Сухопутному и Морскому госпиталям, основанным ещё в начале XVIII века, был утвержден 18 декабря 1798 года. Указом императора  Павла I медицинская школа при госпиталях была преобразована в Медико-хирургическую академию. С 1881 года академия носит название Военно-медицинской.

Специально для Академии на Выборгской стороне было построено здание. Строительство было начато в 1799 г. по проекту Антонио Порто  и закончено в 1809 г. под руководством Андрея Воронихина. Разработка проекта велась по программе, составленной врачами-экспертами, и  предусматривала создание учебных клиник, аудиторий, кабинетов, библиотеки, жилых помещений для учащихся. Здание отвечало самым высоким требованиям медицинской науки того времени.

Общий характер композиции здания типичен для русского классицизма конца 1790-х годов. Центральный корпус, обработанный портиком из шести коринфских колонн, несущих фронтон, увенчан куполом, близким по очертанию к куполу Таврического дворца. Подобные же купола венчают кубические угловые павильоны боковых флигелей с лоджиями.

Стены главного зала украшены знаменитыми фресками итальянского художника Пьеро ди Анжели, им же выполнены художественное оформление купола и изображения богинь врачевания, фармации и науки в «парусах», окаймляющих купол.

Сады Военно-медицинской академии созданы ещё до её основания. На рубеже XVIII —XIX веков они были перепланированы, а в XIX веке ВМА стала центром обширного медицинского городка.

Среди других корпусов ВМА стоит обратить внимание на огромное здание Сухопутного и Морского госпиталей (ныне Военно-клинический госпиталь), протянувшееся вдоль Пироговской набережной, дома 3-5. Здание построено во второй половине XVIII века по проекту Г.С. Войницкого.

Военно-медицинская академия сыграла выдающуюся роль в развитии отечественной медицины. В её стенах работали великие русские ученые — Н. И. Пирогов, И. М. Сеченов, С. П. Боткин, И. П. Павлов, В.М. Бехтерев  и другие выдающиеся врачи.