Famous building

Puppet theater in the name of E.S. Demmeny

Address

Nevsky pr., 52/14

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1787, 1850, 1886

Architects

B.B. Heidenreich, V.I. Schaub, V.V. Schaub

St. Petersburg Puppet Theater in the name of E.S. Demmeni is the first professional puppet theater in Russia. The Petrograd State Marionette Theater was created by a group of Petrograd artists led by Lyubov Vasilyevna Shaporina-Yakovleva. Its curtain rose for the first time on April 12, 1919. And in the mid-1930s, the theater moved to a new building - to the former Schroeder apartment building on 52 Nevsky Prospect.

The first house on this site was built in the 1740s for the philistine S.Ya. Yakovlev. The building was one-story with a rusticated plinth, shaped platbands and a triangular pediment. Since 1787 the house was owned by the wife of Lieutenant-General N.A. Borozdina, a big fan of entertainment. With her, on the site of a one-story house, a three-story corner building in the style of classicism was erected. The ceremonial hall of the house was rented to wax exhibitions. In 1797, the house was bought into the treasury, and the Theatrical Directorate and the Theatrical School moved here.

In 1850 the building was rebuilt according to the design of architect B. B. Heidenreich. It remained a three-story and partly retained the features of classicism.

In the 1880s, the plot was acquired by the owner of a piano factory, Karl Schroeder, who ordered the renovation of the house to architects V.I. and V.V. Schaubam. The house had an office, a shop and a music salon. The heirs of Schroeder owned the house until 1918.

In 1923–1937, the Circle of Friends of Chamber Music (from the end of the 1920s - the Chamber Music Society) worked here, where Dmitry Shostakovich made his debut, many famous musicians and composers performed.

Since the 1930s, the Puppet Theater Demmeni, founded by actor and director Yevgeny Sergeevich Demmeni, has settled in the building. The names of Samuel Marshak, Eugene Schwartz, Veniamin Kaverin and Olga Bergholz, who performed here at concerts of chamber music and poetry, are associated with this theater. From 1949 to 1957, the theater provided the premises for the All-Russian Theatrical Society and the House of Actor.

Eugene Demmeni directs the theater until his death in 1969. Today the St. Petersburg Puppet Theater bears the name of its creator. The theater has a unique collection of designer theater dolls - about a thousand puppets, including works by folk puppeteers and hand puppets of the French theater of the end of the 19th century.

Достопримечательность

Театр марионеток им. Е.С. Деммени

Театр марионеток им. Е.С. Деммени
Адрес
Невский пр., 52/14
Ежедневно
Год постройки
1787, 1850, 1886
Архитектор
Б.Б. Гейденрейх, В.И. Шауб, В.В. Шауб
Стиль
Эклектика

Санкт-Петербургский театр марионеток им. Е.С. Деммени —  первый в России профессиональный театр кукол. Петроградский государственный театр Марионеток был создан группой петроградских художников во главе с Любовью Васильевной Шапориной-Яковлевой. Его занавес впервые поднялся 12 апреля 1919 года. А в середине 1930-х годов театр переехал в новое здание — в бывший доходный дом Шредера на Невском проспекте, 52.

Первый дом на этом месте был построен в 1740-х годах для мещанина С.Я. Яковлева. Здание было одноэтажным с рустованным цоколем, фигурными наличниками и треугольным фронтоном. С 1787 года домом владела  жена генерал-поручика Н.А. Бороздина, большая любительница развлечений. При ней на месте одноэтажного дома было возведено угловое трехэтажное здание в стиле классицизм. Парадный зал дома сдавался под выставки восковых фигур. В 1797 году дом был выкуплен в казну, и сюда переселились Театральная дирекция и Театральная школа.

В 1850 году здание перестроили по проекту архитектора Б.Б. Гейденрейха. Оно осталось трехэтажным и отчасти сохранило черты классицизма.

В 1880-х годах этот участок приобрел владелец фортепианной фабрики Карл Шредер, который заказал реконструкцию дома архитекторам В.И. и В.В. Шаубам. В доме находились контора, магазин и музыкальный салон. Наследники Шредера владели домом до 1918 года.

В 1923–1937 годах здесь работал Кружок друзей камерной музыки (с конца 1920-х  годов — Общество камерной музыки), где дебютировал Дмитрий Шостакович, выступали многие знаменитые музыканты и композиторы.

С 1930-х годов в здании обосновался Кукольный театр Деммени, созданный актером и режиссером Евгением Сергеевичем Деммени. С этим театром связаны имена Самуила Маршака, Евгения Шварца, Вениамина Каверина и Ольги Берггольц, которая в дни блокады выступала здесь на концертах камерной музыки и поэзии. С 1949 по 1957 год театр предоставлял помещение Всероссийскому театральному обществу и Дому актёра.

Евгений Деммени руководил театром до самой своей смерти в 1969 году. Сегодня Санкт-Петербургский театр марионеток носит имя своего создателя. В театре хранится уникальная коллекция авторских театральных кукол — около тысячи марионеток, в том числе работы народных кукольников и ручные куклы французского театра конца XIX века.

Культурная столица приглашает в гости!
Многодневные туры и речные круизы в Санкт-Петербург
Заказать