Famous building

School 206, former Petrin Commercial School

Address

Fontanka River emb., 62

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1882–1883

Architects

F.S. Kharlamov

Style

Eclectism

The Petrin Commercial School was opened in October 1880 at the expense of the St. Petersburg Merchant Society. Initially, it was located on Ligovsky Prospekt, but soon it moved to a new building on Fontanka, designed by the architect Fyodor Kharlamov.

The school, named after Peter the Great, was the leading institution among the commercial and trade schools of St. Petersburg. It gave its pupils general secondary and commercial education. Boys of different classes at the age of 10-12 years were admitted here. The course lasted 8 years, and graduates who graduated with an excellent certificate were awarded the title of honorary citizen of St. Petersburg.

In 1900, the Petrin School was awarded a gold medal at the World Exhibition in Paris.

In 1919, the Petrin Commercial School was transformed into a labor school. It was one of 39 schools in Leningrad that continued to operate during the blockade. Among the famous graduates of the school are the artist Arkady Raikin, writers Sergei Dovlatov and Ivan Efremov, poets Nikolai Tikhonov and Yevgeny Rein, scientist, nuclear physicist, Yakov Zeldovich.

The historic school building on the Fontanka River has survived to this day. From 1940 to the present, this is school number 206.

Достопримечательность

Школа 206, бывшее Петровское Коммерческое училище

Адрес

наб. р. Фонтанки, 62

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1882–1883

Архитектор

Ф.С. Харламов

Стиль

Эклектика

Петровское торгово-коммерческое училище было открыто в октябре 1880 года на средства Санкт-Петербургского купеческого общества. Вначале оно располагалось на Лиговском проспекте, но вскоре переехало в новое здание на Фонтанке, построенное по проекту архитектора Федора Харламова.

Училище, названное в честь Петра Великого, было головным учреждением среди коммерческих училищ и торговых школ Петербурга. Оно давало своим воспитанникам общее среднее и коммерческое образование. Сюда принимали мальчиков разных сословий в возрасте 10–12 лет. Курс обучения длился 8 лет, а выпускникам, окончившим с отличным аттестатом, присваивалось звание почетного гражданина Санкт-Петербурга.

В 1900 году Петровское училище было удостоено золотой медали на Всемирной выставке в Париже.

В 1919 году Петровское коммерческое училище было преобразовано в трудовую школу. Она была одной из 39 школ Ленинграда, которые продолжали работать в блокаду. В числе знаменитых выпускников школы – артист Аркадий Райкин, писатели Сергей Довлатов и Иван Ефремов, поэты Николай Тихонов и Евгений Рейн, ученый, физик-ядерщик, Яков Зельдович.

Историческое здание училища на Фонтанке, сохранилось до наших дней. С 1940 года и по настоящее время это школа №206.