Church

Pushkin Lutheran Church

Address

Pushkin, Naberezhnaya st., 4

Category

Churches

Years of foundation

1865

Architect

A.F.Vidov

Style

Neogothic

Pushkin Lutheran Church is an object of historical and cultural heritage, an architectural monument of the second half of the 19th century. It is located in the historical center of Tsarskoe Selo, not far from the gate "To my kind colleagues" of the Catherine Park.

The construction of the Lutheran church at this place is connected with the opening of the Tsarskoye Selo Lyceum in 1811, one of the privileged educational institutions of Russia in the first quarter of the 19th century. It is in the Lyceum where the first Lutheran community of Tsarskoe Selo appears, initially consisting of pupils, servants and teachers of the Lutheran faith.

By the petition of the director of the Lyceum Engelhardt and the teacher of the law of the God's of Lutheran confession Hellfire in 1817, Emperor Alexander the First issued a decree on the allocation of land for the construction of the Lutheran church. The author of the project of the first, wooden church is architect Stasov. A year later the church was built and consecrated. The music for this event was composed by the Lyceum singing teacher, Ludwig Tepper de Ferguson, the author of the music for the famous "Farewell Song", which became the Lyceum's anthem. In 1843, after the Lyceum moved to St. Petersburg, the church was taken over by the Ministry of the Internal Affairs, and its parishioners were mostly residents of the German colony "Fridental".

Eventually the wooden building of the church became dilapidated, and in 1860 the council of the community ordered from the architect Alexander Fomich Vidov, the chief palace architect of the Tsarskoye Selo palace department, a project of a new building. Vidov used an exemplary project of the Lutheran temple, designed by his teacher architect Ton. Construction began in 1864 after the Emperor Alexander II personally allocated seven thousand rubles for its construction. A year later the church was built, and on April 17, 1865, on the birthday of the emperor, the church was consecrated.

By the beginning of the twentieth century, parishioners of Pushkin's Lutheran Church were residents of Tsarskoe Selo, Pavlovsk, German colonies of Fridental and Etump, as well as workers of three paper factories on the Izhora River of the Lutheran faith.

At the beginning of the First World War, on August 6, 1914, a moleben served in the church for the victory of Russian arms. Later in the parish, donations were made in favor of the evangelical field hospital, in favor of the military families, for other military needs.

After the revolution of 1917, worship services in the church were held until 1930. In 1931 the church was closed, and until 1977 the building was used for the needs of the new government. In different periods it had a working hostel, repair shops, a driving school. During the occupation of Tsarskoe Selo, the church building was not damaged.

In 1977 the building of the church was transferred to the Finnish Evangelical community. Previously, a partial restoration of the church was carried out. The building itself is a high-altitude dominant of the southern part of the city of Pushkin.

From the end of 1977 to the present, regular Sunday services are held in the church. In the premises of the church there is an art gallery ILMA Association of Tsarskoselsky artists, on Saturdays there are concerts of classical music.

Храм

Пушкинская лютеранская церковь

Адрес

г. Пушкин, ул. Набережная, 4

Категория

Храмы

Год постройки

1865

Архитектор

А. Ф. Видов

Стиль

Псевдоготика

Пушкинская лютеранская церковь — объект исторического и культурного наследия, памятник архитектуры второй половины XIX века.  Находится в историческом центре Царского Села, недалеко от  ворот «Любезным моим сослуживцам» Екатерининского парка. 

Постройка лютеранской церкви на этом месте связана с открытием в 1811 году Царскосельского Лицея, одного из привилегированных учебных заведений России первой четверти XIX века. Именно в Лицее появляется первая лютеранская община Царского Села, первоначально состоящая из учеников, служащих и преподавателей лютеранского вероисповедания.

По прошению директора Лицея Энгельгардта и учителя закона божьего лютеранского вероисповедания Гнихтеля в 1817 году император Александр Первый издал указ о выделении участка земли под строительство лютеранской церкви. Автор проекта первой, деревянной церкви — архитектор Стасов.  Через год церковь была построена и освящена.  Музыку, приуроченную к этому событию, сочинил лицейский преподаватель пения, Людвиг Теппер де Фергюсон, автор музыки к знаменитой «Прощальной песне», ставшей гимном Лицея. В 1843 году после переезда Лицея в Петербург церковь перешла в ведение министерства внутренних дел, и ее прихожанами, в основном, стали жители немецкой колонии «Фриденталь».

Со временем деревянное здание церкви обветшало, и в 1860 году совет общины заказал у архитектора Александра Фомича Видова, старшего дворцового архитектора Царскосельского дворцового ведомства, проект нового здания. Видов использовал образцовый проект лютеранского храма, разработанный его учителем архитектором Тоном. Строительство началось в 1864 году после того, как император Александр Второй лично выделил семь тысяч рублей на ее строительство.  Спустя год церковь построена, и 17 апреля 1865 года, в день рождения императора, церковь была освящена.

К началу двадцатого века прихожанами пушкинской лютеранской церкви являлись жители Царского Села, Павловска, немецких колоний Фриденталь и Этюп, а также работники трех бумажных фабрик на реке Ижоре лютеранского вероисповедания.

В начале Первой мировой войны, 6 августа 1914 года, в церкви служили молебен о даровании победы русскому оружию. В дальнейшем в приходе собирались пожертвования в пользу евангелического полевого лазарета, в пользу семей ополченцев, на другие военные нужды.

После революции 1917 года богослужения в церкви проходили до 1930 года. В 1931 году церковь была закрыта, и вплоть до 1977 года здание использовалось под нужды новой власти. В разные периоды в нем было рабочее общежитие, ремонтные мастерские, автошкола. В период оккупации Царского Села церковное здание не пострадало.

В 1977 году здание церкви было передано финской евангелической общине. Предварительно была проведена частичная реставрация здания церкви. Само здание является высотной доминанты южной части города Пушкина.

С конца 1977 года по настоящее время в церкви проходят регулярные воскресные богослужения. В помещениях церкви работает художественная галерея ИЛМА Ассоциации царскосельских художников, по субботам проходят концерты классической музыки.